Chase Ellingson of Williams races to front of Olsen Family USRA?Modified field

Chase Ellingson (right) of Williams poses in Victory Lane with flagman Dave Bergeson following his win in the Olsen Family USRA Modified feature at the Hamilton County Speedway Saturday night in Webster City. Ellingson topped a field that included 11 other drivers. Jodie Casey Photography

WEBSTER CITY — After staying dark for the Fourth of July holiday, the Hamilton County Speedway driven by Spangler Automotive returned to action Saturday with Carload Night presented by NAPA Auto Parts.

Fans witnessed 83 entries compete on the high-banked half-mile clay oval, including a season-high 13 Super Late Models presented by Jerry Goebel State Farm Agent.

Besting a dozen others was Jeff Aikey of Cedar Falls as he held off seventh-starting Charlie McKenna of Ames to claim the victory. Ryan Griffith of Webster City, who started ninth, finished third followed by Curtis Glover of Knoxville and Paul Conrad of Colo.

In Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series action, the Olsen Family USRA Modifieds saw polesitter Chase Ellingson of Williams pick up the win with defending track champion J.D. Auringer of Waterloo, who started ninth, settling for runner-up honors.

Scott Olson of Blairsburg wound up third, while a pair of long travelers — Kollin Hibdon of Pahrump, Nevada, and Dylan Thornton of Orcutt, California — rounded out the top five finishers.

Jason Minnehan of Churdan scooted to victory in the Seneca Foundry USRA Stock Car main event with Bill Crimmins of Fort Dodge crossing the finish line second.

Webster City’s Justin Ades took third, Tyler Pickett of Boxholm nabbed the fourth spot and John Campbell of Belmond was the fifth driver to cross the finish line.

The Stein Heating & Cooling USRA B-Mods featured the third racer of the night to win from the front row when Jason Bass of Fort Dodge took the checkers while Ty Griffith, who started 11th, became the third driver to start deep in the field and claw his way to a second-place finish.

Griffith’s fellow Webster City resident Doug McCollough collected a third-place paycheck, while Nate Whitehurst of Mason City and 10th-starting Alex Zwanziger of Walker rounded out the top five.

The Diamond in the Rough USRA Hobby Stocks welcomed a familiar face to Integrity Trucking Victory Lane as Eric Stanton of Carlisle picked up the win over ninth-starting Scott Dobel of Manly.

Tyson Overton of Carlisle, Riley Crimmins of Fort Dodge and Kevin Irwin of Bakersfield, California, completed the top five.

Jade Lange of Humboldt continued his impressive run in the MyRacePass USRA Tuners by picking up another win over Matt Oberhelman of Fort Dodge, Ryan Bryant of Mason City, John Gill of Marshalltown and John Dahlsten of Pomeroy.

Gamblers Night up next: The Hamilton County Speedway driven by Spangler Automotive will be back in action on Saturday for Gamblers Night presented by Seneca Foundry. On tap are Super Late Models presented by Jerry Goebel State Farm Agent plus the Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series featuring Olsen Family USRA Modifieds, Seneca Foundry USRA Stock Cars, Stein Heating & Cooling USRA B-Mods, Diamond in the Rough USRA Hobby Stocks and MyRacePass USRA Tuners.

Feature Race Results

Hamilton County Speedway


Super Late Model

1. Jeff Aikey, Cedar Falls; 2. Charlie McKenna, Ames; 3. Ryan Griffith, Webster City; 4. Curtis Glover, Knoxville; 5. Paul Conrad, Colo; 6. John Emerson, Waterloo; 7. Darrel DeFrance, Marshalltown; 8. Luke Sathoff, Jackson, Minn.; 9. Curt Schroeder, Newton; 10. Rusty Patterson, Mason City; 11. Jason Hahne, Webster City; 12. Kyle Krampe, Baxter.


1. Chase Ellingson, Williams; 2. J.D. Auringer, Waterloo; 3. Scott Olson, Blairsburg; 4. Kollin Hibdon, Pahrump, Nev.; 5. Dylan Thornton, Orcutt, Calif.; 6. Dennis Elliott, Mount Ayr; 7. Ron Ver Beek, Oskaloosa; 8. Mark Elliott, Webster City; 9. Greg Elliott, Webster City; 10. Thor Anderson, Rock Valley; 11. Jacob Murray, Hartford; 12. Jesse ely, Webster City.

Stock Car

1. Jason Minnehan, Churdan; 2. Bill Crimmins, Fort Dodge; 3. Justin Ades, Webster City; 4. Tyler Pickett, Boxholm; 5. John Campbell, Belmond; 6. Dylan Suhr, Waterloo; 7. Kevin Opheim, Mason City; 8. Reid Keller, Webster City; 9. Todd Staley, Webster City; 10. Calvin Lange, Humboldt; 11. Nathan Ely, Webster City; 12. Gary Bass, Des Monies; 13. Philip Holtz, Manchester.


1. Jason Bass, Fort Dodge; 2. Ty Griffith, Webster City; 3. Doug McCollough, Webster City; 4. Nate Whitehurst, Mason City; 5. Alex Zwanziger, Walker; 6. Rocky Caudle, Ellsworth; 7. Roger Caquelin, Wester City; 8. Brandon Toftee, Otho; 9. Jeremy Grantham, Allison; 10. Troy Oliver, Des Moines; 11. Jeremiah Reed, Otho; 12. Danny Fye, Boxholm; 13. Kyle Webb, Des Moines; 14. Damion Elliott, Webster City; 15. Mitch Frakes, Eagle Grove; 16. Kendall Zuetlau, Fort Dodge; 17. George Gilliland, Lehigh; 18. Hunter Kennedy, St. Ansgar; 19. LaDon Sams, Fort Dodge; 20. Lucas Jones, Fort Dodge; 21. Donovan Kennebeck, Lytton.

Hobby Stock

1. Eric Stanton, Carlisle; 2. Scott Dobel, Manly; 3. Tyson Overton, Carlisle; 4. Riley Crimmins, Fort Dodge; 5. Kevin Irwin, Bakersfield, Calif.; 6. Bryce Sommerfeld, Fort Dodge; 7. Cory Roe, Webster City; 8. Roger Haupt, Webster City; 9. Daniel Ayers, Webster City; 10. John Ades, Rippey; 11. Jeremy Crimmins, Fort Dodge; 12. Mark Kennedy, Webster City; 13. Tanner Green, Hampton; 14. Jake Blau, Latimer.


1. Jade Lange, Humboldt; 2. Matt Oberhelman, Fort Dodge; 3. Ryan Bryant, Mason City; 4. John Gill, Marshalltown; 5. John Dahlsten, Pomeroy.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $3.46/week.

Subscribe Today