-Messenger photo by Britt Kudla Alex Fuhs of Fort Dodge putts during the Amateur championship tournament on Sunday at Lakeside Golf Course

The Travis J. Habhab Lakeside Amateur provided the exact kind of finish its namesake would have loved to see here Sunday.

Habhab, a 2001 Fort Dodge Senior High graduate, passed away unexpectedly in 2014 at just 32 years old. A year later, this event was renamed in honor of the former clubhouse worker who also served on the groundcrew for Chad Graaf.

“Travis was Lakeside,” Graaf said. “He lived and breathed golf. Lakeside was his second home and I miss him dearly. This tournament brings up a flood of emotions for not only myself but my staff that he worked with including Phil Ruth, Ron Bygness, Mike Nash and Lori Branderhorst.

“He will never be forgotten and this tournament is the greatest way to honor his legacy.”

After 27 holes of action, Alec Fuhs bested Cody Jaeschke in a playoff to claim first place. Austin Morrow was third, Kevin Ault fourth and Andrew Arndorfer finished fifth. Morrow and Ault, who are both FDSH grads, are also former winners of the event.

Recent Iowa Central graduate Nico Booyans placed seventh and Avery Fuhs, the twin brother of Alec, was eighth.

Alec and Avery Fuhs helped Webster City claim back-to-back Class 3A state golf titles as juniors and seniors. They were also part of the third place finishing team as sophomores, with Alec earning second and third as an individual.

After graduation, both attended Des Moines Area together, once again finding success by leading the Bears to the NJCAA National Tournament. They remained a pair by transferring to Grand View University to continue playing golf.

“The course was in great shape,” Fuhs said. “It is always fun getting to come back and play in this tournament since I haven’t been able to play in it for the last couple of years.”

Joining the Fuhs brothers were the father-son duo Anthony and Harrison Mayer, who both graduated from St. Edmond.

“I had a great group to play with,” Fuhs said. “I was just happy to beat the group.”



Championship Flight

1. Alec Fuhs 109; 2. Cody Jaeschke 109; 3. Austin Morrow 111; 4. Kevin Ault 111; 5. Andrew A. 111; 6. Charlie West 112; 7. Nico Booyans 112; 8. Avery Fuhs 113.

First Flight

1. Davis Shelleky 78; 2. Eddie Doyle 78; 3. Jarod Gross 78.

Second Flight

1. Klayton Kirkpatrick 81; 2. Brady Dixon 81; 3. Kyle Bickford 81.

Third Flight

1. B. Bayear 85; 2. Will Comp 86; 3. Steve Huss 86.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $3.46/week.

Subscribe Today