Miller named to all-NCC hoops 3rd team

WCHS senior forward Jenna Miller (40) looks to score from the right block during a game against St. Edmond this winter. Miller was recently named to the all-North Central Conference third team. DFJ photo/Troy Banning

WEBSTER CITY — Webster City’s leader at the offensive end of the floor and on the glass throughout the season, senior forward Jenna Miller recently earned all-conference recognition from the North Central Conference coaches.

Miller, a three-year varsity contributor for the Lynx, was named to the all-conference third team. She was the lone WCHS player among the 18 honorees on the three teams.

The first team consisted of Humboldt’s Kendal Clark, Clarion-Goldfield-Dows’ Raven Kinnetz, Clear Lake’s Jaden Ainley and Kaitlyn Vanderploeg, Iowa Falls-Alden’s Jenny Wibholm and Hampton-Dumont/CAL’s Lauren Meader.

Clark, Kinnetz and Ainley were unanimous selections to the top team.

Miller averaged 8.9 points and 7.8 rebounds per game to pace WCHS. She ranked 18th in the NCC in scoring and was No. 5 on the boards. She also ranked sixth in free throw percentage (69 percent).

Miller shot 34 percent from the floor, including 30 percent from behind the 3-point arc. She scored in double figures eight times with a season-high 16 in a 45-42 loss to Algona on Dec. 18. Her 1.6 steals per game ranked third on the Lynx team.

Clark was the league’s top scorer at 16.7 points per game, just ahead of Meader (15.2) and Kinnetz (14.6). Iowa Falls-Alden freshman Ella Sharar, a second-team pick, was fourth at 14.5.


Girls Basketball

First Team

*Kendal Clark, sr, Humboldt; *Raven Kinnetz, sr, Clarion-Goldfield-Dows; *Jaden Ainley, jr, Clear Lake; Kaitlyn Vanderploeg, sr, Clear Lake; Jenny Wibholm, sr, Iowa Falls-Alden; Lauren Meader, jr, Hampton-Dumont/CAL.

*Denotes unanimous selection

Second Team

Bae Arnold, sr, Humboldt; Chelsey Holck, sr, Clear Lake; Morgan Middleton, sr, Clarion-Goldfield-Dows; Avery Hanson, jr, Hampton-Dumont/CAL; Lillian Etherington, soph, Algona; Ella Sharar, fr, Iowa Falls-Alden.

Third Team

Jenna Miller, sr, Webster City; Jori Hajek, sr, Humboldt; Jadyn Jondle, sr, Clarion-Goldfield-Dows; Leah Neverman, sr, St. Edmond; Emily Theiss, jr, Clear Lake; A’Lailah Perry, soph, Algona.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today