South Hamilton’s Tycin Barkema (5) and Colton Willis (53) celebrate a win this season. Willis was recently named the Lineman of the Year and a first-team all-district selection in Class 1A District 3. Barkema was named to the second team, as the Hawks collected 13 honors in all. DFJ photo/Angela Hewitt

JEWELL — It was quite the fall to remember for the South Hamilton football team.

The program’s first ever unbeaten regular season. A dominant run through the Class 1A District 3 landscape. A top-five ranking. It all added up to a season that will be talked about for years to come.

And now it’s time to celebrate the achievements.

Following its 7-0 regular season and 8-1 overall record, the Hawks were handed 13 all-district awards, including 10 unanimous spots on the first team. In addition, senior Colton Willis was named the Lineman of the Year and Corey Klemp was named the Coach of the Year in the district.

Not bad, fellas.

South Hamilton’s Trevor Thompson intercepts a pass while surrounded by teammates Brock Galetich (9), Austin Busch (21) and Freddie Lewis (2) against Madrid this season. DFJ photo/Angela Hewitt

The Hawks placed five players on the district’s first-team offense — Willis, Dominic Summers (line), Trevor Thompson (running back), Carter Hewitt (tight end) and Lane Swenson (utility). Five more players were on the top defense — Austin Busch (linebacker), Elijah Balderas (linebacker), Brock Galetich (defensive back), Kyler Hodnefield (defensive back) and Freddie Lewis (utility).

Second-team members included Ethan Young (offensive line), Landon Stolee (offensive line) and Tycin Barkema (linebacker).

South Hamilton owned the most potent offense and the most stingy defense in the district, understandable considering it won its five district games by an average of 29 points. The backfield ran over foes, and the offensive line — go ahead and add Hewitt to that group — opened up gaps large enough to drive through.

The Hawks led the district offensively in total yards (3,475), rushing yards (3,005), rushing touchdowns (41) and total touchdowns (45).

Willis and Summers were the anchors of the offensive line that made life easy on Thompson, Swenson, Galetich and Lewis in the backfield.

Brock Galetich looks for someone to block as Lane Swenson runs the ball during a game this season. DFJ photo/Angela Hewitt

Thompson was the district rushing champion with 1,326 yards and 17 TDs. Swenson ran for 709 yards and seven scores, and also served as a devastating lead blocker for both Thompson and Galetich, who was third in the district with 876 yards and 14 TDs.

In addition to his blocking duties, Hewitt — a first-year varsity player as a senior who has picked up a handful of college offers, including one from UNI — caught three passes for 66 yards and a TD.

South Hamilton’s defense allowed just nine points per game, not only the best in the district, but also in the entire class.

Busch collected 49 tackles, including 51⁄2 for a loss to trail only Thompson (55) on the team hierarchy. Hodnefield piled up 251⁄2 tackles, Balderas had 25, Galetich 21 and Lewis 10.

Lewis tied for the district lead in interceptions with three. Hodnefield came up with two and Galetich — an all-state pick in the secondary in 2019 — had one.

All-District Teams

Class 1A District 3

(Note: *Unanimous selection)

Offensive MVP — Beau Butler, South Hardin.

Defensive MVP — Kaleb Brouwer, Dike-New Hartford.

Lineman of the Year — Colton Willis, South Hamilton.

Coach of the Year — Corey Klemp, South Hamilton.

First Team Offense

Quarterback — Owen Thomas, sr, Aplington-Parkersburg; Nathan Moore, sr, Dike-New Hartford; Dante Dolash, sr, South Hardin.

Running Back — *Trevor Thompson, sr, South Hamilton; *Drew Larsen, sr, Dike-New Hartford; *Beau Butler, sr, South Hardin.

Wide Receiver — *Dane Fuller, sr, Dike-New Hartford; Cameron Luhring, sr, Aplington-Parkersburg; Ryan Walters, soph, South Hardin.

Linemen — *Colton Willis, sr, South Hamilton; *Dominic Summers, sr, South Hamilton; *Nick Johnson, sr, Aplington-Parkersburg; *Jacob Leohr, sr, Dike-New Hartford; *Tate Entriken, jr, Hudson; *Dalton Jackson, sr, South Hardin.

Tight End — *Carter Hewitt, sr, South Hamilton.

Utility — *Lane Swenson, sr, South Hamilton; *Devon Kollasch, jr, Dike-New Hartford.

Kicker — *Nolan Dall, jr, Dike-New Hartford.

First Team Defense

Linemen — *Jaxson Brouwer, sr, Aplington-Parkersburg; *Cael Jensen, jr, Dike-New Hartford; *Timothy Benson, jr, East Marshall; *Blake Johnson, sr, Hudson.

Linebacker — *Austin Busch, jr, South Hamilton; *Elijah Balderas, jr, South Hamilton; *Trevor Rule, sr, Aplington-Parkersburg; *Kaleb Brouwer, sr, Dike-New Hartford; *Samuel Bandstra, sr, East Marshall; *Nolan Gehrke, sr, South Hardin.

Defensive Back — *Brock Galetich, sr, South Hamilton; *Kyler Hodnefield, sr, South Hamilton; *Cael Lupkes, sr, Aplington-Parkersburg; *Bo Lee, soph, East Marshall.

Utility — *Freddie Lewis, sr, South Hamilton; *John Walters, sr, South Hardin.

Punter — *Bryce Griffin, sr, Hudson.

Second Team

(South Hamilton Only)

Offensive Line — Ethan Young, sr; Landon Stolee, jr.

Linebacker — Tycin Barkema, jr.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today