Hawks’ Remsburg on 2nd team; Oskvig and Duns HM

South Hamilton middle hitter Taylor Remsburg (9) smacks a kill against Eagle Grove during a Class 2A regional match in Jewell last month. Remsburg was recently named to the all-Heart of Iowa Conference second team by the league’s coaches. DFJ photo/Troy Banning

WEBSTER CITY — Working from the middle of the court, Taylor Remsburg was quietly South Hamilton’s most dangerous offensive weapon on the volleyball court this fall.

Her talents spoke loud enough to the coaches in the Heart of Iowa Conference though.

Remsburg, a junior middle hitter, was recently named to the all-HOIC second team. She was the lone South Hamilton player to receive recognition on the one of the top two teams. Hawks’ senior libero Kaylee Oskvig and sophomore outside hitter Zoey Duns were honorable mention selections.

Remsburg, who shared time in the middle, laced a team-high 100 kills for South Hamilton, which finished 9-21 overall and 1-5 in the HOIC under first-year head coach Kayla Schaufenbuel. The Hawks were forced into a two-week sabbatical in September due to a COVID-19 quarantine.

Remsburg also collected 55 digs and 12 blocks on the season.

Oskvig, one of the veterans on the club, had a team-high 186 digs while roaming the back row, as well as 11 service aces.

Duns was second on the team in kills (92) and digs (175), and shared the lead with Paige Evans in service aces (19).

Conference champion Roland-Story and runner-up Nevada paced the first team with three selections each.

All-HOIC Volleyball Teams

First Team — Madison Geise, jr, Roland-Story; Ava Charlson, sr, Roland-Story; Megan Greenfield, sr, Roland-Story; Sydney Mosinski, sr, Nevada; Ellie Gray, sr, Nevada; Katelyn Kingsbury, sr, Nevada; Avery Randall, sr, West Marshall; Celeste Wagaman, sr, PCM; Brianna Osterson, sr, Greene County.

Second Team — Taylor Remsburg, jr, South Hamilton; Reagan Barkema, sr, Roland-Story; Madison Martindale, sr, Roland-Story; Reagan Schmitz, sr, Roland-Story; Hannah Thomsen, sr, Nevada; Shelbi Hazlitt, jr, Nevada; Katy Reyerson, soph, West Marshall; Chelsea Bird, jr, PCM; Lily Muir, sr, Greene County.

Honorable Mention — Zoey Duns, soph, South Hamilton; Kaylee Oskvig, sr, South Hamilton; Danielle Grady, sr, Roland-Story; Reagan Vogelaar, sr, Roland-Story; Erin Coogler, sr, Nevada; Maddie Dunham, jr, Nevada; Reilly Jensen, jr, West Marshall; Halie Hohnstein, fr, West Marshall; Jacki Vos, sr, PCM; Claire Wilson, jr, PCM; Natalie Heupel, soph, Greene County; Isabella Schroeder, soph, Greene County; Deleaney Shinn, sr, Saydel; Kandice Sotter, sr, Saydel.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today