Skartvedt, Jensen leaders for Hawks at Jim Klein Invite

JEWELL — Ty Skartvedt continued to lead the South Hamilton boys’ cross country team, and Marissa Jensen continued her late-season surge to the front of the girls’ team pack at the Jewell Golf and Country Club Thursday evening.

Hosting the Jim Klein Invite, the Hawk boys placed fourth with 125 points in the field of eight teams, while the girls were fifth with 123.

Fourth-ranked (Class 2A) Roland-Story (girls) and top-ranked (1A) Madrid (boys) claimed the team titles. Madrid owned the top four spots on the individual leaderboard, led by gold medalist Jason Renze (16:12.33). Panorama’s Ella Waddle (20:27.40) took home the girls’ top individual prize.

Skartvedt raced his way into the boys’ top 10 on the difficult terrain. He crossed in 17:55.71 to finish ninth overall. It was more than a minute later when Eli Potter streaked across the finish line in 19:09.02, good enough for 24th. Landan Grove (19:17.42) was close behind in 26th.

Clay Willadsen (19:40.43) and Gage Koster (19:44.35) completed the Hawks’ score.

Jensen and teammates Paige Doolittle and Abby Ervin all stayed in close contact during the girls’ 5K. Jensen had the better finishing kick and came home in 23:02.08 to place 21st. Doolittle (23:16.33) was right behind her in 22nd, and Ervin (23:19.45) was just a few steps behind Doolittle in 24th.

Anna Lammers (23:43.50) also cracked the top 30; she was 29th. Chandler George (24:30.35) factored into the Hawks’ team score as well with a 34th-place performance.

Jim Klein Invite

Thursday at Jewell


Team Standings

1. Roland-Story 36; 2. Panorama 44; 3. ACGC 87; 4. West Marshall 103; 5. South Hamilton 123; 6. East Marshall 141; 7. Madrid 150; 8. Colo-NESCO 224.

Individual Winner — Ella Waddle, Panorama, 20:27.40.

South Hamilton Results

21. Marissa Jensen 23:02.08; 22. Paige Doolittle 23:16.33; 24. Abby Ervin 23:19.45; 29. Anna Lammers 23:43.50; 34. Chandler George 24:30.35; 42. Kelbe Krumm 25:09.13; 56. Valerie Wagner 26:06.65.


Team Standings

1. Madrid 20; 2. East Marshall 85; 3. ACGC 87; 4. South Hamilton 125; 5. Roland-Story 135; 6. Colo-NESCO 162; 7. Eagle Grove 177; 8. West Marshall 203; 9. BCLUW 210.

Individual Winner — Jason Renze, Madrid, 16:12.33.

South Hamilton Results

9. Ty Skartvedt 17:55.71; 24. Eli Potter 19:09.02; 26. Landan Grove 19:17.42; 33. Clay Willadsen 19:40.43; 37. Gage Koster 19:44.35; 39. Logan Halfwassen 19:54.77; 67. Bobby Tapper 21:28.04.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today