WCHS senior tailback Trey Mathis warms up on the sideline prior to a game against Gilbert earlier this month. Mathis and the Lynx are ranked No. 6 in Class 3A in the final Associated Press poll of the season, released on Monday. DFJ photo/Troy Banning

WEBSTER CITY — Ranked for much of the season, the Webster City and South Hamilton football teams will both enter the postseason as top-six teams in their respective classes.

The final Associated Press poll of the season was released on Monday in the lead-up to the first round of the postseason, which will get started in all six classes later this week. WCHS and South Hamilton both have a bye and will host second-round contests on Friday, Oct. 23.

Following a 69-14 pasting of Boone on Friday that resulted in the 17th undefeated regular season in program history, the Lynx (7-0) bumped up one spot to No. 6 in the Class 3A poll. Council Bluffs Lewis Central, which spent the majority of the season at No. 2, fell to No. 7 after it lost to newly No. 2-ranked Harlan in the regular season finale for both teams.

South Hamilton (7-0), which wrapped up the first unbeaten regular season in school history with a 40-14 rout of Aplington-Parkersburg on Friday, maintained its No. 4 position in the Class 1A poll.

There were no changes at the top of the six classes. The No. 1 teams include Southeast Polk (4A), Cedar Rapids Xavier (3A), Williamsburg (2A), OA-BCIG (1A), Grundy Center (A) and Don Bosco (8-man).

But that doesn’t mean there isn’t still plenty of differing opinions on which teams are best in each class. In fact, all six classes had at least three teams garner first-place votes, and in 3A the top five teams all landed at the top of at least one voter’s ballot.

In 4A, Urbandale took the biggest fall in the final week. Ranked No. 2 behind Southeast Polk for multiple weeks, Urbandale plummeted to No. 8 following a 38-17 loss to No. 5 Waukee on Friday.

WCHS awaits the winner of the first-round contest between Mason City and Gilbert, two teams the Lynx handled in the regular season. South Hamilton will face either District 3 rival South Hardin or Central Springs.


(Number of 1st-place votes)

CLASS 4A — 1. Southeast Polk (11); 2. Ankeny (2); 3. West Des Moines Dowling; 4. Pleasant Valley (1); 5. Waukee; 6. Dubuque Hempstead; 7. Iowa City West; 8. Urbandale; 9. Sioux City East; 10. Cedar Rapids Prairie.

CLASS 3A — 1. Cedar Rapids Xavier (7); 2. Harlan (1); 3. Washington (2); 4. Dallas Center-Grimes (3); 5. Davenport Assumption (1); 6. Webster City; 7. Council Bluffs Lewis Central; 8. West Delaware; 9. (Tie) Ballard and North Scott.

CLASS 2A — 1. Williamsburg (5); 2. Central Lyon/George-Little Rock (5); 3. PCM (4); 4. West Lyon; 5. Waukon; 6. Camanche; 7. Solon; 8. Estherville-Lincoln Central; 9. Atlantic; 10. West Marshall.

CLASS 1A — OA-BCIG (12); 2. Van Meter (1); 3. Sigourney-Keota (1); 4. South Hamilton; 5. Southeast Valley; 6. Underwood; 7. South Central Calhoun; 8. Mount Ayr; 9. Emmetsburg; 10. Waterloo Columbus.

CLASS A — 1. Grundy Center (10); 2. St. Ansgar (1); 3. Iowa City Regina (2); 4. Edgewood-Colesburg (1); 5. West Hancock; 6. Logan-Magnolia; 7. MFL-Mar-Mac; 8. Wapsie Valley; 9. South Winneshiek; 10. Lisbon.

CLASS 8-MAN — 1. Don Bosco (12); 2. Remsen St. Mary’s (1); 3. Aubudon; 4. CAM; 5. Montezuma (1); 6. Coon Rapids-Bayard; 7. Gladbrook-Reinbeck; 8. Easton Valley; 9. Newell-Fonda; 10. Fremont Mills.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today