Skartvedt 4th, Hawks take silver at WM Invite

Doolittle just outside top 10, SH girls grab the bronze

STATE CENTER — Ty Skartvedt and Paige Doolittle led their respective South Hamilton cross country teams to solid performances at Monday’s West Marshall Trojan Invitational.

Skartvedt placed himself inside the top five, and Doolittle hung just outside the top 10 at Lincoln Valley Golf Course, and both Hawk squads finished in the top half of the field.

The South Hamilton boys’ team slotted into the runner-up spot with 67 points, trailing only meet champion Greene County (46). The Hawk girls’ crew tallied 84 points to place third behind champion Collins-Maxwell (36) and West Marshall (42).

Skartvedt completed the 5K course in 18:26 to finish fourth overall, and he trailed individual gold medalist Nicolas Thompson (18:12) of West Marshall by just 14 seconds.

Eli Potter, Landan Grove, Gage Koster and Clay Willadsen all ran in close contact to give the Hawks a solid scoring pack. Potter was 12th overall in 20:00, and Grove (20:08) was only eight seconds back in 15th. Koster (20:22) was one spot behind Grove, and Willadsen (20:33) finished out the solid team run in 20th.

Doolittle continued to be the leader for the girls’ team, as she toured the course in 24:29 to finish 11th overall. Abby Ervin, still working back into shape following offseason knee surgery, also broke the 25-minute mark; she took 16th place in 24:59.

Chandler George (25:47) gave South Hamilton a third top-20 runner, as she filled out the front runners. Marissa Jensen (25:56) was right behind her in 21st and Kelbe Krumm (26:49) completed the scoring in 26th.

West Marshall Trojan Invitational

Monday at State Center


Team Standings

1. Collins-Maxwell 36; 2. West Marshall 42; 3. South Hamilton 84; 4. Grandview Christian 92; 5. Colo-NESCO 138; 6. Greene County 153.

Individual Winner — Elie Tuhn, Baxter, 21:36.

South Hamilton Results

11. Paige Doolittle 24:29; 16. Abby Ervin 24:59; 20. Chandler George 25:47; 21. Marissa Jensen 25:56; 26. Kelbe Krumm 26:49; 29. Valerie Wagner 27:41; 32. Paige Seaton 28:08.


Team Standings

1. Greene County 46; 2. South Hamilton 67; 3. Collins-Maxwell 78; 4. Grandview Christian 93; 5. Colo-NESCO 100; 6. West Marshall 133; 7. Ankeny Christian Academy 156.

Individual Winner — Nicolas Thompson, West Marshall, 18:12.

South Hamilton Results

4. Ty Skartvedt 18:26; 12. Eli Potter 20:00; 15. Landan Grove 20:08; 16. Gage Koster 20:22; 20. Clay Willadsen 20:33; 32. Colton Fink 22:02; 33. Logan Halfwassen 22:03; 35. Owen Jones 22:11; 37. Bobby Tapper 22:26; 45. Teagan Trask 23:40; 56. Andrew Babcock 26:18; 63. Aiden Penning 30:33.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today