Lynx vault into AP Class 3A Top 10, sit tied for 8th

Next foe Ballard just outside Top 10; South Hamilton earns 3 votes in Class 1A

Webster City sophomore Skyler Scott drags down Carroll's Cade Schable on Friday. DFJ photo/Troy Banning

WEBSTER CITY — Webster City’s 55-0 thumping of Carroll on Friday made statewide Associated Press poll voters stand up and take notice.

After not garnering a single vote following Week 1 of the season, the Lynx (2-0) jumped into the Class 3A Top 10 on Monday. They sit tied with Sergeant Bluff-Luton at No. 8.

WCHS received 21 voting points from the statewide panel of media members. Its Week 3 opponent, Ballard (2-0), is just outside the Top 10.

South Hamilton earned three voting points in the 1A poll, but sits well outside the Top 10. However, the Hawks are sixth in the class, according to the Cedar Rapids Gazette.

South Hamilton will face its first test of the season on Friday when it goes on the road to take on No. 8 (1A) Dike New-Hartford (1-1).

The AP top-ranked teams this week include West Des Moines Dowling (4A), Dallas Center-Grimes (3A), Prairie City-Monroe (2A), OA-BCIG (1A), Grundy Center (A) and Don Bosco (8-man).

Dowling, the winners of seven consecutive large-class state championships, picked up a 22-0 win over West Des Moines Valley on Friday in a game that was Nos. 1 vs. 2. Valley slipped to fifth following the loss.


CLASS 4A — 1. West Des Moines Dowling; 2. Southeast Polk; 3. Cedar Falls; 4. Urbandale; 5. West Des Moines Valley; 6. Waukee; 7. Iowa City West; 8. Ankeny; 9. Cedar Rapids Washington; 10. (tie) Cedar Rapids Kennedy, Pleasant Valley and Fort Dodge.

CLASS 3A — 1. Dallas Center-Grimes; 2. Cedar Rapids Xavier; 3. Harlan; 4. Council Bluffs Lewis Central; 5. Washington; 6. West Delaware; 7. Davenport Assumption; 8. (tie) Webster City and Sergeant Bluff-Luton; 10. Glenwood.

CLASS 2A — 1. PCM; 2. Williamsburg; 3. West Lyon; 4. Central Lyon/George-Little Rock; 5. West Liberty; 6. Waukon; 7. Unity Christian; 8. Clear Lake; 9. Mount Vernon; 10. Sioux Center.

CLASS 1A — 1. OA-BCIG; 2. Van Meter; 3. South Central Calhoun; 4. Underwood; 5. Sigourney-Keota; 6. Mount Ayr; 7. Emmetsburg; 8. Dike-New Hartford; 9. Durant; 10. West Branch.

CLASS A — 1. Grundy Center; 2. St. Ansgar; 3. Iowa City Regina; 4. Edgewood-Colesburg; 5. South Winneshiek; 6. Wapsie Valley; 7. Lisbon; 8. Logan-Magnolia; 9. MFL-Mar-Mac; 10. West Hancock.

CLASS 8-MAN — 1. Don Bosco; 2. Audubon; 3. CAM; 4. Remsen St. Mary’s; 5. Fremont Mills; 6. Newell-Fonda; 7. Montezuma; 8. Easton Valley; 9. Springville; 10. Gladbrook-Reinbeck.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today