Hahne and Griffith secure track titles at the Hamilton County Speedway

WEBSTER CITY — The Hamilton County Speedway driven by Spangler Automotive crowned its season champions Saturday night and hosted the Bruce Sommerfeld Memorial at the historic half-mile dirt oval.

Jason Hahne of Webster City captured his third main event of the season and secured his second straight track championship in the Super Late Models powered by Jerry Goebel State Farm Agent.

Gabe Umbarger of Garner followed “Hollywood” to the finish line. Ryan Griffith of Webster City was third in the race and second in the final points.

Colo’s Paul Conrad finished fourth and Don Beckstrom of Carroll rounded out the top five.

In Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series action, former USRA national champion Lucas Schott of Chatfield, Minn., picked up the winner’s share of the prize money in the Olsen Family USRA Modifieds and was the only driver from beyond the Hawkeye State’s borders to earn a top-five finish on the night.

Ben Nading of Ankeny settled for second while Waterloo’s J.D. Auringer captured his third straight track championship with an exciting run from 12th on the starting grid.

Eleventh-starting Kyle Brown of Madrid wound up fourth and Garett Wilson of Carlisle started and finished fifth.

John Campbell of Belmond raced to his first Seneca Foundry USRA Stock Car feature win of the year by holding off defending track champion Reid Keller of Webster City.

Meanwhile, Bill Crimmins crossed the finish line third. Despite going winless in 2020, the veteran racer from Fort Dodge nailed down the season-long track championship.

Parker Slagle of Eagle Grove was fourth in the feature race and Jesse Brown of Nashua took the fifth spot.

In the Stein Heating & Cooling USRA B-Mods, Ty Griffith of Webster City roared to his fourth win of the 2020 campaign at his hometown racetrack as he secured the track championship.

Brandon Toftee of Otho was the runner-up finisher, Jason Bass of Fort Dodge finished third, Levi Chipp settled for a fourth-place paycheck and polesitter Jeremiah Reed of Otho held on for fifth.

In search of his second straight track title in the Diamond in the Rough USRA Hobby Stocks, defending USRA national champ Eric Stanton of Carlisle came from the third row to win his sixth main event of the season with Jeremy Crimmins of Fort Dodge following in second.

The points title, however, wound up in the lap of Manly’s Scott Dobel who finished third after starting 10th to score 23 more points than Stanton in their 11 starts this year.

Polesitter Daniel Ayers of Webster City was the fourth driver to reach the checkered flag and Bryce Sommerfeld of Fort Dodge was fifth.

Ryan Bryant of Mason City came into the program clinging to a three-point advantage over Humboldt’s Jade Lange in the MyRacePass USRA Tuners points battle.

When the checkered flag waved, Bryant had his fourth feature win of the season while Lange had to settle for the runner-up spot in the race and the track championship battle.

John Gill of Marshalltown finished third in the main event, followed by Desiree Sells of Fort Dodge and James Peterson of Webster City.

Racing, rodeo and pulling remain: A busy August continues as the track hosts the Highway 20 Stampede-a two-day rodeo, racing and roping barnburner featuring some of the best cowboys in the business on Friday and Saturday, Aug. 14-15.

The following weekend, incredible sound and power of the Lucas Oil Pro Pulling League invades the Hamilton County Speedway for the first time for the Central Iowa Nationals. The weekend of Aug. 21-22 will feature 95 Limited Pro Stock Tractors, Super Modified Two-Wheel Drive Trucks, Limited Pro Stock Diesel Trucks and Light Pro Stock Tractors.

Feature Race Results

Hamilton County Speedway

Saturday, Aug. 8

Super Late Model

1. Jason Hahne, Webster City; 2. Gabe Umbarger, Garner; 3. Ryan Griffith, Webster City; 4. Paul Conrad, Colo; 5. Don Backstrom, Carroll; 6. Brandon Davis, Waterloo.


1. Lucas Schott, Chatfield, Minn.; 2. Ben Nading, Ankeny; 3. Justin Auringer, Waterloo; 4. Kyle Brown, Madrid; 5. Garett Wilson, Carlisle; 6. Ron Ver Beek, Oskaloosa; 7. Devon Havlik, Iowa Falls; 8. Nate Hughes, Webster City; 9. Carey Umbarger, Mason City; 10. Chase Ellingson, Williams; 11. David Brown, Kellogg; 12. Scott Olson, Blairsburg; 13. Kelly Tapper, Webster City; 14. Jesse Ely, Webster City; 15. Jeffery MacRunnel, Webster City; 16. Tristan Vesterby, Webster City; 17. LaDon Sams, Fort Dodge.

Stock Car

1. John Campbell, Belmond; 2. Reid Keller, Webster City; 3. Bill Crimmins, Fort Dodge; 4. Parker Slagle, Eagle Grove; 5. Jesse Brown, Nashua; 6. Jason Minnehan, Churdan; 7. Justin Ades, Webster City; 8. Dylan Suhr, Waterloo; 9. Nathan Ely, Webster City.


1. Ty Griffith, Webster City; 2. Brandon Toftee, Otho; 3. Jason Bass, Fort Dodge; 4. Levi Chipp, Latimer; 5. Jeremiah Reed, Otho; 6. Alex Zwanziger, Walker; 7. Doug McCollough, Webster City; 8. Rocky Caudle, Ellsworth; 9. Jeremy Grantham, Allison; 10. Kyle Webb, Des Moines; 11. Bryer McCoy, Webster City; 12. Andrew Inman, Mason City; 13. Mitch Frakes, Eagle Grove; 14. Lucas Jones, Fort Dodge; 15. George Gilliland, Lehigh; 16. Wade Gilliland, Callender.

Hobby Stock

1. Eric Stanton, Carlisle; 2. Jeremy Crimmins, Fort Dodge; 3. Scott Dobel, Manly; 4. Daniel Ayers, Webster City; 5. Bryce Sommerfeld, Fort Dodge; 6. Danny Sassman Jr., Fort Dodge; 7. Thomas Egenberger, Des Moines; 8. John Ades, Rippey; 9. Jeremy Ades, Raymond; 10. Lincoln Miller, Eagle Grove; 11. Nate Parkhill, Webster City; 12. Mark Kennedy, Webster City; 13. Roger Haupt, Webster City; 14. August Bach, Reinbeck.


1. Ryan Bryant, Mason City; 2. Jade Lange, Humboldt; 3. John Gill, Marshalltown; 4. Desiree Sells, Fort Dodge; 5. James Peterson, Webster City; 6. John Dahlsten, Pomeroy; 7. Josh Dahlsten, Pomeroy; 8. Austin Jones, Webster City; 9. Matt Oberhelman, Fort Dodge.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today