Victory Lane littered with repeat winners at the Hamilton County Speedway

Ty Griffith of Webster City poses in Victory Lane following his second feature win of the season in the Stein Heating & Cooling B-Mod class the Hamilton County Speedway in Webster City on Saturday. All six feature winners on the night had previously won this season. Jodie Casey Photography

WEBSTER CITY — It was Gamblers Night presented by Seneca Foundry at the Hamilton County Speedway driven by Spangler Automotive on Saturday. Four racers made their second trip to Integrity Trucking Victory Lane this season, while two others paid a fourth visit.

Action in the Super Late Models presented by Jerry Goebel State Farm Agent saw veteran Jeff Aikey of Cedar Falls come from the third row on the grid to claim his second win of the 2020 campaign.

Defending track champion Jason Hahne of Webster City was second, Garner’s Gabe Umbarger finished third, fourth went to polesitter Lyle Klein of Sherrill and 10th-starting Joel Callahan of Dubuque rounded out the top five.

In Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series competition, defending track champion J.D. Auringer bested a strong field of Olsen Family USRA Modifieds from his fifth starting spot while Nate Hughes of Humboldt, who started sixth, followed the Waterloo wheelman to the checkered flag.

Mark Elliott of Webster City settled for third, Chase Ellingson of Williams was the fourth-place finisher and Garett Wilson of Carlisle came from 11th to claim the fifth spot.

Seneca Foundry USRA Stock Cars saw Myles Michehl of Fort Dodge register his second win of the year by holding off the challenge by Jason Minnehan of Churdan, who came from 10th on the starting grid.

Jesse Brown of Nashua took home the third-place paycheck, while defending track champ Reid Keller of Webster City held off Bill Crimmins of Fort Dodge at the finish line for fourth.

Claiming his second victory of the season in the Stein Heating & Cooling USRA B-Mods, Ty Griffith held off fellow Webster City taxpayer Doug McCollough for top honors.

From the 11th starting spot, Alex Zwanziger of Walker grabbed third, while Rocky Caudle of Ellsworth crossed the finish line fourth. Jason Bass of Fort Dodge completed the top five.

Eric Stanton of Carlisle garnered his fourth Diamond in the Rough USRA Hobby Stock feature win of the season, but still trails runner-up Scott Dobel of Manly in the points battle as he tries to collect back-to-back titles.

Fort Dodge racers Bryce Sommerfeld and Riley Crimmins finished fourth and fifth, respectively, and Roger Haupt of Webster City took fifth.

Now a four-time feature winner himself, Jade Lange of Humboldt padded his points lead in the MyRacePass USRA Tuner division by fending off the advances of former national champ Ryan Bryant of Mason City.

Matt Oberhelman of Fort Dodge was the fourth driver to cross beneath the checkered flag with polesitter Jeff Trosin of Ringsted and Justin Nielson of Lu Verne following close behind.

Kids Night next: On Saturday, he Hamilton County Speedway driven by Spangler Automotive hosts Kids Night featuring Super Late Models powered by Jerry Goebel State Farm, Olsen Family USRA Modifieds, Seneca Foundry USRA Stock Cars, Stein Heating & Cooling USRA B-Mods, Diamond in the Rough USRA Hobby Stocks and MyRacePass USRA Tuners.

Feature Race Results

Hamilton County Speedway


Super Late Model

1. Jeff Aikey, Cedar Falls; 2. Jason Hahne, Webster City; 3. Gabe Umbarger, Garner; 4. Lyle Klein, Sherrill; 5. Joel Callahan, Dubuque; 6. Ryan Griffith, Webster City; 7. Rusty Patterson, Mason City; 8. Michael Leal, Pacific Junction; 9. Greg Kastli, Waterloo; 10. Todd Johnson, Mitchellville; 11. Jill George, Cedar Falls; 12. Colton Leal, Pacific Junction; 13. Paul Conrad, Colo; 14. Jenna Johnson, Mitchellville.


1. Justin Auringer, Waterloo; 2. Nate Hughes, Humboldt; 3. Mark Elliott, Webster City; 4. Chase Ellingson, Williams; 5. Garett Wilson, Carlisle; 6. Jon Plowman, Woodbine; 7. Jeffery MacRunnel, Webster City; 8. Kelly Tapper, Webster City; 9. Devon Havlik, Iowa Falls; 10. Scott Olson, Blairsburg; 11. Ron Ver Beek, Oskaloosa; 12. Jesse Ely, Webster City.

Stock Car

1. Myles Michehl, Fort Dodge; 2. Jason Minnehan, Churdan; 3. Jesse Brown, Nashua; 4. Reid Keller, Webster City; 5. Bill Crimmins, Fort Dodge; 6. Dylan Suhr, Waterloo; 7. Ben Peterson, Granada, Minn.; 8. Nathan Ely, Webster City; 9. Coy Van Hauen, Nora Springs; 10. Justin Ades, Webster City; 11. Mark Elliott, Webster City; 12. Wyatt Medlin, Rockford; 13. Xander Treichel, Greene; 14. Parker Slagle, Eagle Grove; 15. John Campbell, Belmond; 16. Logan Staley, Webster City.


1. Ty Griffith, Webster City; 2. Doug McCollough, Webster City; 3. Alex Zwanziger, Walker; 4. Rocky Caudle, Ellsworth; 5. Jason Bass, Fort Dodge; 6. Cole Suckow, Cresco; 7. Brandon Toftee, Otho; 8. Nate Whitehurst, Mason City; 9. Zach Davis, Lonsdale, Minn.; 10. Damion Elliott, Webster City; 11. Kyle Webb, Des Moines; 12. Mitch Frakes, Eagle Grove; 13. Braden Scharn, Sac City; 14. George Gilliland, Lehigh; 15. Kendall Zuetlau, Fort Dodge; 16. Wade Gilliland, Callendar; 17. Jeremiah Reed, Otho; 18. Bryer McCoy, Webster City.

Hobby Stock

1. Eric Stanton, Carlisle; 2. Scott Dobel, Manly; 3. Bryce Sommerfeld, Fort Dodge; 4. Riley Crimmins, Fort Dodge; 5. Roger Haupt, Webster City; 6. Tyson Overton, Carlisle; 7. Daniel Ayers, Webster City; 8. Jeremy Crimmins, Fort Dodge; 9. Danny Sassman Jr., Fort Dodge; 10. John Ades, Rippey; 11. Mark Kennedy, Webster City; 12. Sam Umbarger, Garner; 13. Taylor Manderfield, Mankato, Minn.; 14. Tanner Redman, Webster City.


1. Jade Lange, Humboldt; 2. Ryan Bryant, Mason City; 3. Matt Oberhelman, Fort Dodge; 4. Jeff Trosin, Ringsted; 5. Justin Nielson, Lu Verne; 6. John Gill, Marshalltown; 7. John Dahlsten, Pomeroy.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $3.46/week.

Subscribe Today