PHETXOUMPHONE A STATE RUNNER-UP: Kendrick Phetxoumphone, a Webster City second grader, claimed a state silver medal at the Iowa AAU Super Peewee State Wrestling Tournament in Waterloo on Sunday.

Competing for Team Valley, Phetxoumphone went 3-1 and raced to the finals with three decision victories. He took out Brody Peters of Team Porcelli, 4-3, in the semifinal round.

Blaze Sorensen of Davis County Elite knocked off Phetxoumphone, 4-0, in the championship bout at 48 pounds.

The Phetxoumphone family has had three state wrestling finalists in the last month. Cam Phetxoumphone, a WCHS sophomore, won the Class 2A 106-pound title to cap a 42-0 season in February, and one week later younger brother, Linden, finished second at 74 pounds in Class B at the Iowa AAU Kids State Championship. A fourth Phetxoumphone brother, Adrian, went 3-2 at 78 pounds in Class B at kids state.

MCKINNEY AN ALL-STAR: Webster City senior Taylor McKinney has been selected to play in the Iowa Girls Coaches Association Larry Niemeyer Senior Girls’ Basketball All-Star Game on Saturday and Sunday, April 4 and 5, on the campus of Kirkwood Community College in Cedar Rapids.

McKinney will play for the Class 3A/4A team that will be coached by Bart Smith of Clear Lake.

A first-team all-conference, all-district and all-region player this season, McKinney is the Lynx all-time leading scorer in 5-player basketball. She completed her career last month with 1,340 points.

CLARK IS MISS BASKETBALL: Caitlin Clark, a West Des Moines Dowling senior and one of the top prep girls’ basketball players in the country, has been named Miss Basketball by the Iowa Print Sports Writers Association.

The 5-foot-11 University of Iowa recruit averaged a state-best 33.7 points per game as a senior and completed her career with more than 2,500 career points.

The IPSWA also announced its all-state teams on Tuesday. Among the players honored were North Central Conference stars Sara Faber (Class 3A first team) of Clear Lake and Abbey Holmes (3A second team) of Algona. The Heart of Iowa Conference also had five all-state players: North Polk’s Jaedon Murphy (3A first team) and Maggie Phipps (3A second team), as well as Gilbert’s Ava Hawthorne (4A second team), PCM’s Regan Freland (3A second team) and Roland-Story’s Reagan Barkema (3A second team).


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)