Lynx collect 10 Class 3A District 2 awards, 6 on the top team

Mathis, Whitmore, Tasler, Klein, Hanson and Olson make the cut; Van Diest, Stuhr, Klaver and Kolbeck honorable mention

WCHS freshman Connor Hanson (33) hits Carroll quarterback Colby Vincent (4) from behind during a game this season. Hanson was one of six Lynx players named to the Class 3A District 2 all-district team. Four others WCHS players were honorable mention choices. DFJ photo/Troy Banning

WEBSTER CITY — Play after play, game after game, what Connor Hanson accomplished on the football field this fall simply wasn’t normal.

Freshmen don’t step between the varsity lines and make a dramatic impact very often. Heck, in Class 3A they rarely even suit up and stand on the sideline.

But Hanson was different, Webster City head coach Bob Howard knew that much immediately.

“It was a big decision to play a freshman and it was a culture shock I’m sure for him, but he had a great season,” Howard said.

He certainly did.

WCHS sophomore guard Truman Klein lines up during a game this season. He and fellow Lynx guard Will Tasler were both named to the Class 3A District 2 first team. DFJ photo/Troy Banning

Hanson’s talents and production at nose tackle were proven with a spot on the 3A District 2 all-district squad at season’s end. He was one of six WCHS players to make the team; a total of 10 Lynx in all were honored.

Lining up directly over the center throughout the season, Hanson was a standout. He was third on the team in total tackles with 381⁄2 and led the defense in tackles for loss with seven.

As. A. Freshman.

And, yes, even Howard was surprised.

“I definitely thought he could play there, but I guess I was surprised at how big of an impact he made,” Howard said. “I was hoping he could make one or two plays a game, but he was consistent every game and he was a playmaker He played as well as a true nose as anybody I’ve had since I’ve been here.”

Joining Hanson on the all-district team for WCHS were running backs Trey Mathis and Garrett Whitmore, offensive linemen Will Tasler and Truman Klein, and safety Tyler Olson. Honorable mention selections included offensive linemen Beau Klaver and Casey Kolbeck, defensive end Jamin Stuhr and linebacker Jack Van Diest.

With a combination of speed, power and savvy, Mathis won the district rushing title with 1,333 yards, the second-most in 3A during the regular season, and scored 25 touchdowns, the most in the district and class.

Humboldt senior running back Jamison Heinz was named the district offensive player of the year. He was second to Mathis in rushing yards (1,134) and scored 12 fewer TDs (13).

Mathis, just a junior, reminds Howard of a plethora of former Lynx ball carriers.

“I would compare his speed to Keagan Parks when he gets out in the open and he runs physically at times like Connor Larson or Gavin Dinsdale. The bigger part of him I see are his running instincts remind me of Robert Frederiksen in how he sets up blocks,” Howard said. “The combination of everything, he’s as good as we’ve had and we’ve had some pretty good tailbacks. I’m glad he’s back for another year.”

Whitmore, a senior wingback, did plenty of damage as well and finished fourth on the district’s rushing hierarchy with 755 yards. He averaged 6.9 yards per carry.

WCHS led District 2 in rushing by more than 700 yards and the backfield certainly played a pivotal role in that success. But so did the offensive line, which was anchored by Tasler and Klein at the guard spots.

“Will was like having somebody new move in because he missed all of (the 2018 season) and had a great season,” Howard said. “Truman Klein is on track to be as good a quick guard as I’ve had and that’s a pretty big statement.”

There was no better defensive ball hawk in the state than Olson, who collected 12 interceptions — a single-season school record and one of the top five campaigns in the state’s 11-player history. He led the state, regardless of class, and was one of only two players to register a double-digit total.

Olson, who was also fifth on the team with 33 tackles, had at least one INT in eight of the Lynx nine games.

Van Diest (53) and Stuhr (361⁄2) ranked first and fourth, respectively, on the team in tackles. Klaver played at one of the Lynx tackle positions and Kolbeck served as the team’s center on the offensive line.

Of the Lynx 10 all-district selections, seven will return next season.

WCHS put together a 6-3 season, including a 3-2 mark in district play — good enough for third place behind district champion Dallas Center-Grimes and Carroll.

Carroll defensive tackle Chase Gladden was named the district’s defensive player of the year. Scott Heitland of DC-G was the district coach of the year.

All-District Teams

Class 3A District 2

Coach of the Year — Scott Heitland, Dallas Center-Grimes.


Player of the Year — Jamison Heinz, Humboldt.

Quarterback — Ty Walker, Dallas Center-Grimes.

Running Back — Trey Mathis, Webster City; Garrett Whitmore, Webster City; Jamison Heinz, Humboldt; Ryan Johnston, Carroll.

Wide Receiver — Isaac Boley, Dallas Center-Grimes; Tory Feldman, Carroll; Caden Grimes, Dallas Center-Grimes; Quali Sporaa, Boone.

Tight End — Luke Woosley, Carroll; Cody Hall, Dallas Center-Grimes.

Line — Will Tasler, Webster City; Truman Klein, Webster City; Sam Fischer, Humboldt; Colton Goodell, Humboldt.

Utility — Ryan Hulse, Boone.

Kicker — Elijah Lee, Carroll.


Player of the Year — Chase Gladden, Carroll.

Line — Chase Gladden, Carroll; Connor Hanson, Webster City; Jacob McIntire, Boone; Cole Snyder, Perry; Emmanuel Soto, Perry; Eliot Tidgren, Carroll.

Linebacker — Abraham Dirkx, Carroll; Gabe Gidel, Humboldt; Carter Krichau, Humboldt; Matt Miller, Humboldt; Jacob Waldron, Dallas Center-Grimes; Blake Willey, Dallas Center-Grimes.

Defensive Back — Tyler Olson, Webster City; Jayne Augusma, Dallas Center-Grimes; Nic Lawton, Dallas Center-Grimes; Wilber Ramirez, Perry; Slade Sibenaller, Carroll.

Punter — Ty Nissen, Carroll.

Honorable Mention

Boone — Morgan Smith (QB), Garrison Frese (OL), Cole Burge (DB), Marcus McPartland (WR).

Carroll — Colby Christensen (WR), Tucker Hinners (OL), Cade Schable (RB), Colby Vincent (QB).

Dallas Center-Grimes — Dillon Belzer (OL), Zach Brand (RB), Gabe Jorgensen (DB), Trenton Liebe (DB).

Humboldt — Caiden Baker (DB), Ben Kuenhast (OL), Logan Nilles (OL), Jake Thurm (DB).

Perry — Cori Alamina (LB), Kato Dougan (WR), Jacob Nelson (DB), Miguel Sierra (DL).

Webster City — Jack Van Diest (LB), Jamin Stuhr (DE), Beau Klaver (OL), Casey Kolbeck (OL).


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)