Hawks collect 14 all-district football honors

Flaugh, Feighner, Balvanz, Willis, Smith, Summers, Thompson and Galetich all on first team

South Hamilton fullback Cade Flaugh attempts to hurdle an Ogden defender this season. He won the Class 1A District 2 rushing title and was named to the all-district first team. DFJ photo/Tracy Queen

JEWELL — A runner-up finish behind state quarterfinalist South Central Calhoun in Class 1A District 2 generated 14 all-district honors, eight of which were first-team accolades, for the South Hamilton football team at season’s end.

The Hawks put together a 6-3 season, which left them just short of qualifying for the state playoffs for a third consecutive season. They were 4-1 in the district.

South Hamilton’s first-team players included running back Cade Flaugh, wide receiver Brandyn Feighner, offensive linemen Cade Balvanz and Colton Willis, defensive linemen Jeremiah Smith and Dominic Summers, linebacker Trevor Thompson and defensive back Brock Galetich.

Placed on the second team for the Hawks were offensive utility player Lane Swenson, linebacker Austin Busch, defensive back Kyler Hodnefield and punter Tycin Barkema.

Honorable mention accolades went to Freddie Lewis and Dawson Mueggenberg.

DFJ photo/Tracy Queen

South Hamilton also had eight players earn academic all-district status — Balvanz, Flaugh, Galetich, Lewis, Thompson, Busch, Nathan Wilson and Preston Stoecker.

South Central Calhoun swept the other major awards. Bryan Case was named the coach of the year, Curt Batta the assistant coach of the year, Landon Schleisman the offensive player of the year, and Brennan Holder the defensive player of the year.

Flaugh won the district rushing title with 1,165 yards and the bruising senior fullback also scored 16 touchdowns behind his award-winning offensive line duo that was the driving force behind the No. 2 ground offense in the district behind South Central Calhoun.

Feighner offered big-play capabilities in the passing game for the Hawks. The senior averaged 21.4 yards per reception and scored three TDs.

South Hamilton’s stingy defense was anchored by its run-stuffing defensive line. Smith, the 2018 district defensive player of the year, made 42 tackles, including five sacks and 10 behind the line of scrimmage. Summers wasn’t far behind with 401⁄2 total stops, five of which were sacks with 91⁄2 total tackles for loss.

Despite missing several games with an ankle injury, Thompson still tied Smith for the team lead in tackles with 42.

Galetich led the district and tied for the 1A lead in interceptions with nine. He also registered 23 total tackles.

All-District Teams

Class 1A District 2

Coach of the Year — Bryan Case, South Central Calhoun.

Assistant Coach of the Year — Curt Batta, South Central Calhoun.


Player of the Year — Landon Schleisman, South Central Calhoun.

Quarterback — Sam Christensen, Ogden; Trey Oehlertz, Pocahontas Area.

Running Back — Cade Flaugh, South Hamilton; Keagen Meyer, South Central Calhoun; Landon Schleisman, South Central Calhoun; Alex Biegger, Madrid.

Wide Receiver/Tight End — Blake McAlister, South Central Calhoun; Brandyn Feighner, South Hamilton; Griffin Diggs, Ogden; Luke Crosgrove, Pocahontas Area.

Line — Gage Cates, South Central Calhoun; Jacob Schultz, South Central Calhoun; Cade Balvanz, South Hamilton; Colton Willis, South Hamilton; Mason Lobeck, Madrid.

Kicker — Zane Neubaum, South Central Calhoun.


Player of the Year — Brennan Holder, South Central Calhoun.

Defensive Back — Brock Galetich, South Hamilton; Jacob Loew, Madrid; Lane Snedden, Ogden; Josh Henkenius, South Central Calhoun; Chase Scheidegger, South Central Calhoun; Jordan Khommanyvong, South Central Calhoun.

Linebacker — Brennan Holder, South Central Calhoun; Trevor Thompson, South Hamilton; CJ Dean, Madrid; Cage Arends, Pocahontas Area.

Line — Brian King, South Central Calhoun; Jeremiah Smith, South Hamilton; Dominic Summers, South Hamilton; Dane Johnson, Pocahontas Area.

Punter — Zane Neubaum, South Central Calhoun.


Quarterback — Cole Corey, South Central Calhoun.

Running Back — Scott Westberg, Ogden; Roberto Callas, Eagle Grove.

Wide Receiver/Tight End — Kolby Moorman, Ogden; Cayden Fuson, Madrid; Zane Neubaum, South Central Calhoun.

Line — Seth Reiss, South Central Calhoun; Bryant Dutcher, Ogden; Abraham Christenson, Ogden; Zane Williams, Madrid; Josh Crosgrove, Pocahontas Area.

UT — Lane Swenson, South Hamilton.

Kicker — Cade Henrickson, Pocahontas Area.


Defensive Back — Kyler Hodnefield, South Hamilton; Noah Kallem, Ogden; Tyler Tolan, Ogden; Chandler Witzke, Pocahontas Area.

Linebacker — Denver Hoskins, Ogden; Austin Busch, South Hamilton; Jayden Soard, South Central Calhoun; Hunter Voith, South Central Calhoun; Colton Freeburg, Pocahontas Area; Brady Leonard, Madrid.

Line — Thomas Melohn, Pocahontas Area; Wyatt Schellenberg, Ogden; Daniel Stevens, South Central Calhoun; Keaton Daniel, South Central Calhoun.

Punter — Tycin Barkema, South Hamilton.


Eagle Grove — Mark Dawson, Carlos Figueroa.

Madrid — Conner Williams, Carson Havlik, Matt Fuller.

Ogden — Ethan Haberer, Kaleb Badker, Simon Lewiston.

Pocahontas Area — Isaiah Hinners.

South Central Calhoun — Bishop King, Jason Goff, Carson Pibal.

South Hamilton — Freddie Lewis, Dawson Mueggenberg.


(Of Note)

South Hamilton — Cade Balvanz, Cade Flaugh, Nathan Wilson, Brock Galetich, Freddie Lewis, Preston Stoecker, Trevor Thompson, Austin Busch.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)