Hawks’ Peters, Hill snag first-team all-HOIC honors

Berg and Balvanz on second team, Grove and Lewis honorable mention choices

Logan Peters gestures to the South Hamilton crowd before the start of a Class 2A state semifinal game last Wednesday. He has been named to the all-HOIC first team. DFJ photo/Troy Banning

JEWELL — Six all-Heart of Iowa Conference accolades and 10 academic all-conference honors are what awaited league champion South Hamilton at season’s end.

Following their third straight HOIC championship, the Hawks picked up first-team awards for senior guards Logan Peters and Conner Hill. Senior forward Cole Berg and junior forward Cade Balvanz were named to the second team, while junior guard Quinton Grove and senior forward Sam Lewis were honorable mention.

Hill, Berg, Balvanz, Grove and Lewis were on the all-academic team, as were Connor Blue, Cade Flaugh, Aaron Hegland, Doran Lutjen and Dawson Mueggenberg.

The remainder of the first team consisted of Will Turner and Matt Ockey of runner-up Gilbert, Reed Worth and Andrew Van Ryswyk of third-place finisher Prairie City-Monroe, Trey Hinote of Greene County, and Tyler Sansgaard of Nevada.

Hill, a Morningside College recruit, led South Hamilton in scoring, rebounds, steals and assists en route to a repeat first-team honor. He averaged 17.6 points, 6.0 rebounds, 3.8 assists and 2.2 steals per game.

Hill finished his career at South Hamilton fifth all-time in points scored (1,243), second in steals (172) and third in assists (338).

Peters, a three-year starter and four-year varsity contributor, averaged 14.2 points per game while shooting nearly 46 percent from the field. He also collected 4.5 rebounds an outing, and was second on the team in assists (74) and steals (38).

Berg, a two-year starter, averaged 12.1 points and 5.7 rebounds. He shot better than 53 percent from the floor.

During the final three years of the senior trio’s career, South Hamilton put together a 69-6 record and reached three state tournaments.

Balvanz, who will take over as the team leader next season, gave the Hawks a fourth double-digit scorer at 10.4 points a night on better than 65 percent shooting. He was second to Hill in rebounds at 5.8 per game.

Grove averaged 5.4 points per game. His biggest contributions were arguably at the defensive end of the court where he served as South Hamilton’s lock-down defender on the perimeter.

A starter early in the season while Berg missed time due to a knee injury, Lewis served as the Hawks’ sixth man throughout most of the campaign and averaged 2.9 points and 3.2 rebounds per game.

All-Conference Teams

Heart of Iowa Conference

First Team

Logan Peters, sr, South Hamilton; Conner Hill, sr, South Hamilton; Will Turner, sr, Gilbert; Matt Ockey, jr, Gilbert; Reed Worth, sr, PCM; Andrew Van Ryswyk, sr, PCM; Trey Hinote, sr, Greene County; Tyler Sansgaard, jr, Nevada.

Second Team

Carter Greenfield, sr, Roland-Story; Cole Berg, sr, South Hamilton; Cade Balvanz, jr, South Hamilton; Matt Barragy, sr, Gilbert; Braden Hoksbergen, sr, North Polk; Tanner Henningsen, soph, Gilbert; Carter Morton, jr, Greene County; Colten Myers, sr, Saydel.

Honorable Mention

South Hamilton — Quinton Grove, jr; Sam Lewis, sr.

PCM — Isaac Telfer, sr; Jason Stafford, jr.

Greene County — Cael Fisher, jr; Nick Breon, jr.

Gilbert — Jeff Rudman, sr; Tony Terrones, soph.

Nevada — Kody Kruschwitz, jr; Devin See, sr.

North Polk — Cameron Markert, sr; Colten Parkins, sr.

Roland-Story — Kade Faga, sr; Dylan Matheason, sr.

Saydel — Dakota Ellsworth, jr; Koby Moriarty, jr.

Academic All-Conference

(South Hamilton Only)

Connor Blue, sr; Cole Berg, sr; Conner Hill, sr; Sam Lewis, sr; Cade Balvanz, jr; Cade Flaugh, jr; Quinton Grove, jr; Aaron Hegland, jr; Doran Lutjen, jr; Dawson Mueggenberg, jr.