Friest, Woodall and Diersen are all-HOIC picks

South Hamilton’s Sydney Friest is fouled on a drive to the basket against Collins-Maxwell in a game back in November. She has been named to the all-HOIC second team. DFJ photo/Troy Banning

JEWELL — The South Hamilton girls’ basketball team received three awards from the Heart of Iowa Conference at season’s end.

Senior forward Sydney Friest was named to the all-HOIC second team by the league’s coaches. Classmates Breanne Diersen and Rylee Woodall were both honorable mention selections.

Friest led the Hawks in scoring and rebounding at 7.6 points and 6.4 boards per game. She also topped the team in assists (33), was second in blocks (31) and third in steals (31).

Woodall was right behind Friest in points, as she averaged 6.8 a contest. The Hawks’ starting shooting guard canned 17 3-point baskets during the season.

Woodall and Diersen shared the team lead in steals with 42.

-Rylee Woodall DFJ photo/Troy Banning

Diersen averaged 5.1 points and 6.2 rebounds an outing. She connected on 18 3-pointers.

All of South Hamilton’s juniors and seniors — Diersen, Friest, Woodall, Krista Swenson, Aneesa Balderas, Brookelyn George, Kylee Gunderson and Kelsey Hildreth — were named to the academic all-conference team.

The Hawks put together a 7-14 record overall and 5-9 in the league, good enough for sixth place. The HOIC was a nightly meat grinder with Class 3A state qualifiers North Polk and Roland-Story leading the way. North Polk, which spent the majority of the season ranked No. 1 in the class, was the state runner-up to Center Point-Urbana.

All eight first-team members will return next season. The top squad was comprised of two freshmen (Gilbert’s Ava Hawthorne and Roland-Story’s Reagan Barkema), two sophomores (North Polk’s Maggie Phipps and Gilbert’s Emma Bulman), and four juniors (North Polk’s Jaedon Murphy, PCM’s Regan Freland, Nevada’s Kacie Rewerts and Roland-Story’s Juliann Clark).

All-Conference Teams

-Breanne Diersen DFJ photo/Troy Banning

Heart of Iowa Conference

First Team — Maggie Phipps, soph, North Polk; Jaedon Murphy, jr, North Polk; Regan Freland, jr, Prairie City-Monroe; Ava Hawthorne, fr, Gilbert; Kacie Rewerts, jr, Nevada; Emma Bulman, soph, Gilbert; Reagan Barkema, fr, Roland-Story; Juliann Clark, jr, Roland-Story.

Second Team — Sydney Friest, sr, South Hamilton; Katie Scott, sr, North Polk; Thea Rotto, soph, Gilbert; Susie Weaver, sr, Roland-Story; Nessa Johnson, soph, Gilbert; Madeline Morton, soph, Roland-Story; Katie Brown, sr, North Polk; Kylie Tjernagel, jr, Roland-Story.

Honorable Mention (South Hamilton only) — Breanne Diersen, sr; Rylee Woodall, sr.

Academic All-Conference (SH only) — Sydney Friest, Breanne Diersen, Rylee Woodall, Krista Swenson, Aneesa Balderas, Brookelyn George, Kylee Gunderson, Kelsey Hildreth.