Lynx load all-NCC teams, 3 on top unit

Martinez, Hackbarth and Steen among best of the best; Moen, Tanner, McKinney and Olson on 2nd team

WCHS senior Romel Martinez (2) is congratulated by head coach Adison Kehoe following a triple against Algona this season. Martinez was a unanimous selection to the all-NCC first team. DFJ photo/Troy Banning

WEBSTER CITY — A second straight season loaded with success, which included a runner-up finish in the North Central Conference, led to a slew of postseason awards for the Webster City baseball team.

The Lynx earned seven all-conference accolades, including three spots on the first team, it was announced recently.

Senior shortstop Romel Martinez was one of just two players in the league to receive a unanimous first-team honor. Algona outfielder Trevor Bormann was also named on the ballots of all eight coaches.

Joining Martinez on the first team were teammates and pitchers Max Hackbarth, a senior, and Dylan Steen, a junior.

Second-team awards went to WCHS seniors Cameron Moen (pitcher), Jordan Tanner (catcher) and Noah McKinney (second base), as well as junior Caleb Olson (outfield).

Max Hackbarth in a first-team all-North Central Conference pitcher for the second consecutive year. DFJ photo/Troy Banning

Algona led the top unit with five selections, while Humboldt joined WCHS with three. Conference champion Clear Lake earned two nods.

The seven total honors for WCHS and Humboldt tied for the league high. Algona had six and Clear Lake collected five.

Martinez, a four-year starter in the middle of the Lynx infield who will play collegiately at Iowa Central Community College, was arguably the top defensive infielder in the conference, but he was also quite handy with the bat. Hitting in the lead-off spot, he hit at a .408 clip with one home run and 11 RBIs. He also smacked nine doubles and two triples, and swiped 12 bases.

With the overwhelmingly top pitching staff in the conference, WCHS was able to turn to any of its top three arms throughout the season.

Hackbarth, the most dominant hurler in the league who will head to Upper Iowa University to play baseball in the fall, went 4-2 with a 1.35 ERA in 512⁄3 innings of work. He struck out 91 batters and opponents hit just .127.

Dylan Steen led Webster City at the plate this season and was one of the NCC's top pitchers. He joined teammates Romel Martinez and Max Hackbarth on the league's first team. DFJ photo/Troy Banning

A first-team all-state pitcher a season ago, Hackbarth went 11-2 with a 0.98 ERA and 194 strikeouts against just 14 earned runs allowed over his last two years in a WCHS uniform.

Steen was one of the most improved pitchers in the conference, as he was a perfect 8-0 on the bump in 2018. He put up a 1.70 ERA and fanned 84 batters while allowing opponents to hit just .139.

At the plate, Steen had the Lynx best batting average (.419) with 29 RBIs.

Moen went 3-2 on the hill with a 1.93 ERA in 361⁄3 innings. For more than a month, he didn’t allow a single run. His streak ended at 221⁄3 innings in the Class 3A District 4 final against Humboldt.

Tanner manned every innings behind the plate for the Lynx during their 17-6 campaign. He hit .353 with one dinger and 19 RBIs, to go along with 15 stolen bases.

McKinney, who teamed up with Martinez to control the middle of the field, turned in a .316 bating average with 24 runs scored, second on the team behind only Martinez (25). McKinney was also perfect in 17 stolen base attempts.

Olson, a versatile performer who played all three outfield positions and served as the team’s closer on the mound, hit .292 with one home run and 15 RBIs.

All-NCC Teams

First Team

Pitcher — Max Hackbarth, sr, Webster City; Dylan Steen, jr, Webster City; Jackson Hamlin, sr, Clear Lake.

Catcher — Zach Lester, sr, Clear Lake.

Infield — *Romel Martinez, sr, Webster City; Grant Goche, sr, Algona; Collin Sexton, sr, Algona; Joey Busse, jr, Humboldt.

Outfield — *Trevor Bormann, sr, Algona; Carson Devine, jr, Algona; Hudson Gargano, jr, Humboldt.

Utility — Isaac Thurm, sr, Humboldt; Matt Grein, jr, Algona.

*Denotes Unanimous Selection

Second Team

Pitcher — Cameron Moen, sr, Webster City; Jake Szalat, sr, St. Edmond; Nathan Tofte, sr, Clear Lake.

Catcher — Jordan Tanner, sr, Webster City.

Infield — Noah McKinney, sr, Webster City; Owen Newton, jr, Humboldt; Erik McHenry, so, Clear Lake; Drew Uhlenhopp, so, Hampton-Dumont.

Outfield — Dustin Miller, jr, Hampton-Dumont; Caleb Olson, jr, Webster City; Sawyer Savery, jr, Humboldt.

Utility — Zach martin, sr, CGD; Wil Weidemann, sr, CGD.

Third Team

Tanner Abbas, sr, CGD; Nick Goche, sr, Algona; Jack McEvoy, jr, St. Edmond; Chase Stuver, jr, Clear Lake; Jacob Thurm, so, Humboldt; Reed Abbas, fr, CGD; Karson Sharar, fr, Iowa Falls-Alden; Cade Witzke, fr, Humboldt.