St. Thomas to take part in strategic management, development program

School is one of 30 within the Archdiocese of Dubuque to participate

St. Thomas Aquinas School has announced its participation in a strategic planning initiative. Catholic School Management (CSM), a division of Christian Brothers, is providing its Strategic Management and Development Program to St. Thomas Aquinas School. The school is one of 30 schools within the Archdiocese of Dubuque that is participating in this initiative.

  The Strategic Management and Development Program is a four-year, onsite consultation service that helps schools to position themselves for long-term viability and vitality through improving the effectiveness of school boards, enhancing school image and communications, raising money, managing enrollment and marketing themselves more effectively.

 This program promises to make a significant difference for participating schools because of CSM’s track record: 99% of the more than 3,000 schools it has worked with continue to thrive after fully completing this consultation program.

 Over the four-year program, the St. Thomas community can expect to see:

•  Clear promotion of the mission, Catholic identity and academic excellence of St. Thomas School

• Increased school board and committee operations

• Creation and implementation of a strategic plan

• Growth in fundraising capabilities

• Enhancements to student recruitment, admissions, and student retention programs

• Expanding marketing and communications efforts

• Evidence of being a sustainable institution for years to come.

 “As the new principal at St. Thomas School this year, I welcome the opportunity to strategically collaborate with our parents, school and church staff, school board and community to ensure that our school is equipped to best serve and support our students academically, socially and spiritually for years to come.,” said Theresa Schleisman.

 This strategic planning initiative is generously supported by the Archdiocese of Dubuque’s Educational Development Endowment Fund. Currently, the committee members are: Fr. Stephen Meyer, Dan Hurt, Rita Wolfgram, Sarah Staley, Mary Engstrom and Theresa Schleisman.

To learn more about or become involved in this planning initiative, contact Theresa Schleisman, principal at 832-1346.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)