Region is redesignated as an Iowa Great Place

Boone Forks Regional Plan is 3 county partnership

FORT DODGE – The Boone Forks Region, consisting of Boone, Hamilton and Webster Counties Tuesday announced that it has been designated an Iowa Great Place by the Iowa Department of Cultural Affairs and Iowa Great Places Citizens Advisory Board.

The designation recognizes the Boone Forks Region for its vision which focused on the lands and communities and creating, a region renowned for its breathtaking river valleys, high trestle rail lines, working farms and natural lands – connected to historic communities of character and opportunity. The mission of the Boone Forks Regional Plan is to collaborate across political and geographic boundaries for effective connection and integration of arts, heritage, nature, community, and economic vitality. Both the vision and the mission of the Boone Forks Region is to focus on a vision and strategies that stay true to the qualities that make the Des Moines and Boone River Valley’s unique.

The Iowa Great Places Program seeks to recognize places that take action to enhance their local assets while staying true to the qualities that makes them unique. This designation enables the Boone Forks Region to become eligible for Iowa Great Places funding opportunities, additional resources and technical assistance from the Department of Cultural Affairs and program staff. The Iowa Great Places Program has provided past funding in the region to implement trail signage, kiosks and wayfinding for the Prairie Rivers Trail System and gateway features in the City of Fort Dodge.

“The Boone Forks Region is extremely excited about this re-designation as an Iowa Great Place and we look forward to our continued partnership with the program as we further our mission to promote, protect and celebrate the scenic river valleys of the Des Moines and Boone Rivers.” Matt Cosgrove, Executive Director of the Webster County Conservation Board

The first communities designated as Iowa Great Places Program occurred in 2005 and to date 41 communities have been recognized as Iowa Great Places. More information on the Iowa Great Places Program is available by visiting iowaculture.gov.

The Iowa Department of Cultural Affairs and its three divisions – the Iowa Arts Council, Produce Iowa-State Office of Media Production and the State Historical Society of Iowa – empower Iowa to build and sustain culturally vibrant communities by connecting Iowans to the people, places and points of pride that define our state. The department’s work enables Iowa to be recognized as a state that fosters creativity and serves as a catalyst for innovation where the stories of Iowa are preserved and communicated to connect past, present and future generations. iowaculture.gov.