WC Eagle Scout, scoutmaster honored at District Recognition Dinner

— Submitted photos Linda and Rod Bowers, Robin Seiser, Scoutmaster Dave Bergeson, Eagle Scout Blake Seiser, District Officer Keith Bidne, Cody Seiser, Jamie Seiser, and Richard and Janet Stroner (VFW charter representatives) were present as Blake Seiser was recognized as one of 49 new Eagle Scouts at the district meeting in Marshalltown last week.
Scoutmaster Dave Bergeson, right, is shown above with District Executive Zachary Tomesch, and District Activities Chair Dr. Al Jergens who presented Bergeson with the Chairman’s Award last week in Marshalltown.

The annual Boy Scouts Prairie Winds District Inaugural Recognition Dinner was held Saturday, Feb. 10 in Marshalltown. During the annual event, all new Eagle Scouts for the past year were recognized, including Webster City Troop 17’s Blake Seiser. Seiser completed his Eagle Scout project at Kendall Young Park this past year renovating and updating the bathroom facilities. He was one of 49 Eagles being honored that evening with an impressive total of over 5,514 hours of service between them all in the Prairie Winds district alone.

Webster City Troop 17 Scoutmaster David Bergeson also received an unexpected surprise that evening as his district peers selected him for the Chairman’s Award, honoring leaders who go above and beyond for the Scouting organization. Bergeson serves as the District Cub Scout Day Camp Director and heads up district Webelos Transitions. Bergeson has been the Scoutmaster for Troop 17 for over 10 years and was previously the Cubmaster for over a decade as well.