Familiar faces find their way to Victory Lane as the season nears its end at Hamilton County Speedway

WEBSTER CITY – Fairgoers packed the grandstand at the historic half-mile Hamilton County Speedway Saturday evening, and the winners put on a show with five trophy-takers coming from the back of the pack to reach Victory Lane.

Jason Hahne, in his No. 76 Late Model, charged from the No. 9 starting spot to claim his fourth feature win of the year. The Webster City driver took the lead on the fourth lap and held it through two restarts.

Ryan Griffith, another local racer, also vaulted up from the fifth row to place second. In third was Darrel DeFrance of Marshalltown, a sixth-row starter.

Webster City’s Mark Elliott also notched his fourth win of the season in the Modified division. He seized the lead from Blairsburg’s Scott Olson at the midpoint of the race.

Olson finished in the second spot with Oskaloosa driver Carter VanDenBerg winding up in third.

Myles Michehl, the Fort Dodge No. 21 Hobby Stock driver, was back in the winner’s circle for the fifth time this year. Beginning in the sixth row, Michehl powered into the lead after a fifth-lap restart, and he crossed the line well ahead of the pack.

The No. Y5 driven by Webster City’s Matt Byrne finished second in the Hobby Stock feature. Matt Mundt of Callender followed closely behind in third.

Jared VanDeest, the 23-year-old Holland Sport Mod pilot, captured his fifth feature victory of the season. He ran on the top for a majority of the race as Ty Griffith, Webster City, attempted to catch up. Griffith settled into the runner-up position with another local driver, Brad Ratcliff, back in third.

The top three finishers in the Stock Car main event have all visited Victory Lane at least once this season and they worked hard to get there again.

It was close quarters racing for the entire 18-lap battle. Churdan’s Jason Minnehan claimed the checkers for the second time in 2015. The No. 59 of Jeff Lyon, Duncombe, prevailed for second over third-place finisher John Campbell of Belmond.

The Sport Compact feature racers went three wide on the start, but Marshalltown driver John Gill in his No. 02 went to the front for his seventh win of the year. Nick Hogan of Manson was second.

Hamilton County Speedway officials announced the 2015 Harris Clash will return to the track on August 4. The race originated in Webster City in 1992, and fans can expect to see Modified and Sport Mods from several states competing.

The season championship night is on the docket for Saturday, as track titles will be handed out in each of the competing classes.

It will also be Fan Appreciation Night on Saturday with $5 admission.

Hot laps will get underway at 6:30 p.m. Driver introductions will preceed each feature race.