Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Getter, Meyer re-elected to WC City Council

Supervisors will break a tie in Blairsburg City Council race

November 8, 2011
Anne Blankenship - Managing editor ( , The Daily Freeman Journal

Doug Getter and Geary Meyer, incumbent candidates for the City Council of Webster City, were re-elected to their posts in Tuesday's general election.

Getter and Meyer were first elected in a special election held two years ago. Getter and Meyer each received 229 votes, including absentee votes.

Election officials said there were a scattering of write-in votes totaling 57.

Article Photos

Marvin Carr, Webster City, casts his ballot in the election Tuesday at St. Paul’s Lutheran Church.

Dan Asklund was re-elected to the Fuller Hall Board of Trustees with 259 votes and L. Richard Anderson was returned to the Kendall Young Library Board of Trustees with 264 votes.


Nine candidates sought election to three seats on the Blairsburg City Council. Marlin Pruismann and Shirley Nelson were elected with 43 and 42 votes, respectively. There was a tie for the third City Council seat between Joseph Bosch and Arne Fagervik. Both received 39 votes. Commissioner of Elections Kim Schaa said the tie would be broken Tuesday when the board of supervisors conducts the canvass of the election. The winner will be drawn from a hat, according to Schaa.

Other candidates were on the ballot were Jessica Scheller, 10 votes, Bobbie H, Sinclair, 9 votes, Diane Sinclair, 5 votes, Diane Smith 10 votes, and Betty Ann Sponsel, 24 votes.

Troy Hassebrock was reelected mayor of Blairsburg with 66 votes.


Brett Hodnefield was reelected to another term of office as mayor of Ellsworth. He received 30 votes. Incumbents Gregory Campbell and Dewaine Zimmerman were re-elected with 30 and 21 votes respectively. Newcomer Stephen Holt was also elected and received 27 votes.


Mickey Walker, an incumbent running unopposed, was re-elected mayor of Jewell with 44 votes. Bruce G. Johnson Jr., 41 votes, and Fred Marcalus, 40 votes, both incumbents, were returned to seats on the City Council.


Jason Moon and Amy Pigsley, were re-elected to seats on the City Council of Kamrar, with 12 and 11 votes, respectively. Howard Moon was elected to fill a vacancy on the council with 12 votes. Jeanette Tempel was re-elected Kamrar mayor. She received 11 votes.


Incumbent Gregg Wright was re-elected mayor of Randall. He earned 24 votes. Incumbent candidates Carlene Enderson, 25 votes, and Shawn Murphy, 23 votes, were re-elected to the council.


Roger Hayes Jr., Susan K, Moore and Nila Zanker were re-elected to the Stanhope City Council. Hayes had 54?votes, Moore earned 50 and Zanker had 54 votes. Challenger David Kennedy received 13 votes. Harold Hove was re-elected mayor with 55 votes.


Aaron Bradley and Rodney L. Woodard, both incumbents, were re-elected to the Stratford City Council. Bradley received 49?votes and Woodard earned 30 votes. There was a scattering of write-in votes.


Jessica Schutt was elected mayor of Williams with 74 votes. Former Mayor Linda Solberg received 41 write-in votes for the office and there was a scattering of other write-ins.

Newcomers Tracey Nicholson and Patsy Weldin were elected to the City Council. Nicholson received 112 while Weldin garnered 102. Incumbent Maggie Utech received 33 votes.



I am looking for: