Officials take oath of office

‘I?look forward to serving the people of Hamilton County’

— Daily Freeman-Journal photo by Anne Blankenship District Court Judge James McGlynn shakes hands with County Attorney Patrick Chambers following the swearing in ceremony Wednesday morning for newly elected Hamilton County officials. Also pictured are Treasurer Judy Warwick, Recorder Kim Anderson and Supervisor Rick Young. The ceremony took place during the Board of Supervisors meeting.

The newly-elected and re-elected Hamilton County officials took the oath of office Wednesday morning during the Board of Supervisors reorganizational meeting.

District Court Judge James McGlynn led the swearing in ceremony for Hamilton County Supervisor Rick Young, Treasurer Judy Warwick, Recorder Kim Anderson and County Attorney Patrick Chambers. Young and Warwick were elected to their first term of office and Anderson and Chambers were re-elected in the November general election.

Young said he was ready to serve the county.

“I’m here because I want to be here,” he said. “I’ve done a lot of things in my life to make a living and put shoes on the kids feet. So now I’m here because this is what I want to do. I look forward to serving the people of Hamilton County.

Supervisor Doug Bailey was elected chairman of the board and Dan Campidilli was elected chairman pro-tem. The board also set the second and fourth Tuesdays of the month at 9 a.m. for its regular meetings, and established the courthouse hours as 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Holidays for courthouse employees were set as follows:

• One day at New Years

• Martin Luther King Jr. Day

• Presidents’ Day

• Memorial Day

• Independence Day

• Labor Day

• Veterans’ Day

• Thanksgiving Day

• Friday after Thanksgiving

• Last regular work day before Christmas closing at noon

• Christmas Day

• New Years

• One floating holiday

The board also designated the road closings for construction work scheduled in 2019. Those include:

• R27 (Fisher Avenue) from the corporate limits of Webster City to the Wright County line;

• D20 (210th Street) from R27 (Fisher Avenue) to R33 (White Fox Road);

• North Des Moines Street from the corporate limits of Webster City to D20 (210th Street),

• Vail Avenue from the southwest corner of Section 32-T87N-R23W to Iowa Highway 175;

• 203rd Street between R35 (Kantor Avenue) and McMurray Avenue

• 230th Street between Tollman Avenue and Ubben Avenue

• 250th Street between Ubben Avenue and underwood Avenue

• 280th Street between the northwest corner of Section 6-T87N-R25W and Inkpaduta Avenue

The Daily Freeman-Journal, South Hamilton Record News and Stratford Courier were designated as the official county newspapers.

The board approved several appointments to county and regional boards and commissions. Rick Young was appointed to the E-911 Service Board, the Emergency Management Commission, as an alternate to the Central Iowa Recovery 28E Board, as an alternate to the MIDAS Board, an alternate to the Second Judicial District Dept. of Correctional Services Board, an alternate to the Solid Waste Commission, a delegate to the Mid-Iowa Growth Partnership, the Region V Hazardous Materials Response Commission, Region V Foundation Board, Hamilton Home Towns and Hamilton County Communications Service Advisory Board.

Doug Bailey was named the ADA Coordinator for Hamilton County.