Hawks’ Moss polishes off career with 1st-team all-HOIC honor, Volkmann named to 2nd team

Seniors Ratzke, Barkema honorable mention choices

South Hamilton senior Anna Moss looks to push around a block during the Hawks’ Class 2A regional match against Central Springs last month. Moss closed out her career with a first-team all-Heart of Iowa Conference honor. DFJ photo/Troy Banning

WEBSTER CITY — A starter since her freshman season, Anna Moss walked away from the South Hamilton volleyball program with a healthy stash of honors.

She can now add one more to the collection.

South Hamilton’s most versatile performer was recently named to the all-Heart of Iowa Conference first team. She was the lone Hawk to make the top unit.

Moss played multiple positions during her career. She starter out as a hitter during her freshman season before moving to libero as a sophomore and junior. As a senior this fall, she moved back to the front row and led South Hamilton in kills.

Moss, a multiple-time all-conference selection, also surpassed 1,000 career digs during her senior season.

South Hamilton junior setter Taylor Volkmann was named to the HOIC second team after she led the Hawks in assists.

Senior front row players Taylor Ratzke and Chloe Barkema were honorable mention all-league selections.

South Hamilton put together a 21-11 record this fall. The Hawks’ 3-4 mark in league play earned them fifth place.

Gilbert ended Nevada’s long run of conference championships by running the table against its seven HOIC foes. Roland-Story was the runner-up at 6-1, followed by Nevada at 5-2.

Gilbert earned three first-team accolades for seniors Inga Rotto, Bree Richard and Megan Goodhue.

The remainder of the first team included Roland-Story junior MaKayla Geise, Nevada sophomore Kacie Rewerts and senior Hattie Rhodes, North Polk junior Nora Aschoff and Greene County senior Megan Durbin.

All-HOIC Teams

First Team

Anna Moss, sr, South Hamilton; Inga Rotto, sr, Gilbert; Bree Richard, sr, Gilbert; Megan Goodhue, sr, Gilbert; MaKayla Geise, jr, Roland-Story; Kacie Rewerts, soph, Nevada; Hattie Rhodes, sr, Nevada; Nora Aschoff, jr, North Polk; Megan Durbin, sr, Greene County.

Second Team

Taylor Volkmann, jr, South Hamilton; Maddie Samson, jr, PCM; Jamie Brenner, sr, Gilbert; Thea Rotto, fr, Gilbert; Hailey Louw, sr, Roland-Story; Jenna Clark, sr, Roland-Story; Amanda Fortmann, jr, Nevada; Carolyn Steffen, jr, North Polk; Grace Nelson, sr, North Polk.

Honorable Mention

South Hamilton — Taylor Ratzke, sr; Chloe Barkema, sr.

Gilbert — Sidney Ayers, sr; Sarah Hinners, sr.

Prairie City-Monroe — Olivia Lippman, sr; Avery Stock, jr.

Roland-Story — Madison Friest, sr; Juliann Clark, soph.

Nevada — Kelby Rewerts, jr; Morgan Tupper, soph.

North Polk — Katie Scott, jr.

Greene County — Chantel Flack, sr; Samantha Hardaway, sr.

Saydel — Katie Schmidt, sr; Destiny Butters, jr.