Lynx pile up plenty of all-district honors

Webster City senior James Cherry (60) blocks for classmate Zane Williams (7) this season. Both were named to the all-district first team in Class 3A District 2. DFJ photo/Troy Banning

WEBSTER CITY — An 8-2 season, runner-up finish in Class 3A District 2 and 10th consecutive trip to the state playoffs provided for another successful fall for the Webster City football team.

And now the Lynx have started to reel in the honors.

Eight WCHS players, four on offense and four on defense, were named to the all-district first team, it was announced earlier this week. Three other players garnered honorable mention accolades.

Running backs Zane Williams and Drake Doolittle, and linemen Cooper Lawson and Austin Lampman were named to the first-team offense. Nose tackle James Cherry, linebacker Caleb Olson, cornerback Jordan Tanner and free safety Dylan Steen were placed on the first-team defense. Defensive end Kooper Jondal, linebacker Luke Rohmiller and fullback/linebacker Hunter Hayes were the honorable mention honorees.

Williams, a senior tailback, was the district’s rushing champion despite missing three games midway through the season because of a heart defect. He finished with 1,348 yards and 19 touchdowns with averages of 7.2 yards per carry and 192.6 yards per game.

WCHS linebacker Caleb Olson gets to Gilbert quarterback Matt Barragy just as he releases the ball this season. Olson was named to the Class 3A District 2 first team at linebacker. DFJ photo/Troy Banning

Williams went off for over 300 yards in back-to-back games against Gilbert (302) and Greene County (336). He’s the only WCHS running back to ever top 300 yards twice in his career.

Doolittle, a junior wingback, registered 214 yards and one touchdown on the ground. His biggest contributions came as a blocker on Williams’ runs to the outside.

Lawson, a senior pulling guard, is a three-time all-district choice and will likely soon be a three-time all-state performer. Lampman, a junior tackle, looked right at home in his first year in the starting lineup. The two linemen were big keys to the Lynx 3,086 yards rushing, the third-most in 3A. WCHS averaged 308.6 ground yards per game.

Cherry, also a senior, had modest numbers — he finished the season with just 181⁄2 tackles and two tackles for loss — but the burly veteran ate up double teams on most snaps. The attention opposing offenses paid to him contributed to Olson’s eye-popping statistics.

Olson, a junior who is now a two-time all-district choice, ranked third in the class in tackles with 831⁄2, including six tackles for loss and three sacks. His 73 solo tackles were the second-most in 3A.

Steen, a junior who also put up more than 1,000 yards of offense as the Lynx spinback, was an interception magnet throughout the season. His 10 picks were the most in the state, regardless of class, and he returned two of them for touchdowns.

Tanner, a senior, was the team’s top cover corner, often drawing the opponents’ top targets. He collected 291⁄2 tackles and had plenty of pass deflections, including three in one-on-one coverage in a tough regular season ending victory over Boone.

Boone quarterback Mason Hulse was named the district’s offensive Most Valuable Player. Dallas Center-Grimes linebacker Trent Carpenter was the defensive MVP and the Mustangs’ Scott Heitland was the district coach of the year.

All-District Team

Class 3A District 2

First Team Offense

Line — Cooper Lawson, sr, Webster City; Austin Lampman, jr, Webster City; Cody Knutson, sr, Ballard; Trey Smith, sr, Boone; Colton Anderson, sr, Boone; Miciah Hildebaugh, sr, DC-Grimes; Connor Olson, sr, Gilbert; Ethan Robey, sr, Gilbert.

Quarterback — Mason Hulse, sr, Boone; Isaac Schafbuch, sr, Ballard; Alexis Garrido, sr, Perry.

Wide Receiver — Reece Huen, jr, Ballard; Landon Howard, jr, Gilbert; Thomas Erickson, sr, DC-Grimes; Tyler Casotti, jr, Boone; Luke Rubow, sr, Iowa Falls-Alden; Reece Dunlap, sr, Perry; Brandon Kenyon, sr, Perry; Trey Hinote, jr, Greene County.

Running Back — Zane Williams, sr, Webster City; Drake Doolittle, jr, Webster City; Skyler Noftsger, jr, Ballard; Tanner Epple, sr, DC-Grimes.

Kicker — Jackson Smith, sr, Boone.

First Team Defense

Line — James Cherry, sr, Webster City; Josh Detar, sr, Ballard; Ben Lee, sr, Ballard; Coty Lemon, jr, DC-Grimes; Brady Simmons, sr, DC-Grimes; Jacob Protzman, sr, DC-Grimes; Jordan Angle, jr, Boone.

Linebacker — Caleb Olson, jr, Webster City; Trent Carpenter, sr, DC-Grimes; Mark Campos, sr, Perry; Jake Berns, sr, Greene County.

Defensive Back — Dylan Steen, jr, Webster City; Jordan Tanner, sr, Webster City; Gannon Manfull, sr, Ballard; John Imerman, sr, Boone; Tyler Cooney, sr, DC-Grimes; Ryne Dunphy, sr, DC-Grimes; Eric Swart, sr, Gilbert; Kaleb Olejniczak, jr, Perry; Xavier Hayes, soph, Greene County.

Punter — German Alvarenga, sr, Perry.

Offensive MVP — Mason Hulse, sr, Boone.

Defensive MVP — Trent Carpenter, sr, DC-Grimes.

Coach of the Year — Scott Heitland, DC-Grimes.

Honorable Mention

Webster City — Kooper Jondal, sr; Luke Rohmiller, sr; Hunter Hayes, sr.

DC-Grimes — Rowan Collins, Daly Jarnigan, Jacob Comer, Damon Clapper.

Boone — John Herrick, Ty England, Quali Sporaa.

Ballard — Colin Anderson, Blake Hegna, Kegan Odden, Ben Hokel.

Gilbert — Matt Barragy, Brock Harris, Logan Litchfield, Keegan Sturdy.

Iowa Falls-Alden — Devin Sheridan.

Perry — Mana Martinez, Ethan McFarland, Cole Snyder, Donald Chavez.

Greene County — Clint Dennhardt, Tyler Miller.