Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | All Access E-Edition | Home RSS

Gov. Branstad issues another disaster proclamation

July 1, 2014
Associated Press

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) — Gov. Terry Branstad has issued another disaster proclamation for counties affected by recent severe weather in Iowa.

Branstad's proclamation Tuesday means state resources can be used to respond to ongoing flooding and severe weather in six additional counties. They are Black Hawk, Iowa, Jackson, Johnson, Louisa and Muscatine counties.

The proclamation also means several counties will be able to utilize the state's individual assistance program. That offers grants of up to $5,000 to certain low-income households.

The National Weather Service says at least three tornadoes hit the state Monday. The proclamation covers severe weather and flooding that began Thursday.

Branstad issued a similar proclamation Monday for Adair, Cedar, Guthrie, Jones and Linn counties.



I am looking for: