Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Nomination process begins for city elections

Petitions available starting Monday at city offices or at county auditor’s office

August 23, 2013
The Daily Freeman Journal

City elections will be held in all Hamilton County cities on Nov. 5. The following offices will appear on the ballot in the respective cities, according Kim Schaa, commissioner of elections. These are not necessarily final because vacancies occurring on or before Sept. 14 must be filled at the Nov. 5 city election.


Mayor - Troy Hassebrock, incumbent

Council member - Rodney E. Harris, incumbent

Council member - Joseph Bosch, incumbent


Mayor - Brett Hodnefield, incumbent

Council member - Marty Jensen, incumbent

Council member - Kris Groth, incumbent


Mayor - Mickey Walker, incumbent

Council member - Kenn Outzen, incumbent

Council member - Rick Young, incumbent

Council member - Leo J. Reiter, incumbent


Council member - Scott Neiman

Council member - Greg Philbrook

Council member - Howard Moon


Mayor - Gregg Wright, incumbent

Council member - Scott Stephens, incumbent

Council member - Michelle Culver, incumbent

Council member - Linda Norem, incumbent


Mayor - Harold Hove, incumbent

Council member - Gary Baker Jr., incumbent

Council member - Trent Flockhart, incumbent


Mayor - Michael T. Nepereny, incumbent

Council member - Amber Shroyer, incumbent

Council member - Julie Ehresman, incumbent

Council member - Brian Wilde, incumbent

Webster City:

Council member - Janet Adams, incumbent

Council member - Jerry Kloberdanz, incumbent

Council member - Linda Conaway, incumbent

Kendall Young Library Trustee - (Jan. 1, 2014-Dec. 31, 2018) Thomas McLaughlin, incumbent

Kendall Young Library Trustee - (Jan. 1, 2015-Dec. 31, 2019) Mark Dohms, incumbent

Kendall Young Library Trustee - (Jan. 1, 2015-Dec. 31, 2019) Michael R. Hames, incumbent

Fred M. Fuller Estate Trustee - Ann E. Kness, incumbent

Fred M. Fuller Estate Trustee - Mary Christensen, incumbent


Mayor - Jessica Schutt, incumbent

Council member - Kim Schimp, incumbent

Council member - Margaret Ronnfeldt, incumbent

Council member - Dennis Frayne, incumbent

Nomination papers for any of the aforementioned offices may be obtained at the city clerk's office in the respective community or the county auditor's office. The documents may also be downloaded on the secretary of state's website:

Candidates for election to city offices must be eligible electors of the city. An eligible elector, according to Schaa, is a person who meets all the qualifications to register to vote whether or not the person is registered.

Candidates are nominated by petition. Those running for office in Webster City must have a minimum of 25 signatures and all other Hamilton County cities require 10 signatures on the petition.

The first day to file nomination petitions is Monday and the final day is Sept. 19 by 5 p.m. Nomination papers should be filed only at the city clerk's office, not the auditor's office, Schaa said.



I am looking for: