Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Hawks Detrick, Fisher receive HOIC recognition

Four players earn unanimous first-team recognition

March 5, 2013
By Troy Banning - Sports Editor ( , The Daily Freeman Journal

WEBSTER CITY - The South Hamilton girls' basketball team missed out on the all-Heart of Iowa Conference first and second teams, but the Hawks picked up a pair of honorable mention slots for their efforts over the winter.

Senior point guard Mattea Detrick and junior shooting guard Kaitlin Fisher both made the cut for South Hamilton.

Detrick, a two-year starter and the most veteran player on the roster this season, ranked in the top 15 in the conference in scoring (8.9 points per game), assists (64) and steals (55). Detrick shot 36.6 percent from the field and knocked down 20 3-point baskets.

Article Photos

DFJ photo by Troy Banning
South Hamilton senior Mattea Detrick (12) glides in for a layup against Nevada during a January game in Jewell. Detrick averaged 8.9 points per game on her way to an all-Heart of Iowa Conference honorable mention selection.

Fisher, one of the team's more tenacious defenders, was 33rd overall in scoring (5.5), and she ranked in the top 20 in rebounds (4.7). She also collected 36 steals.

North Polk juniors Miranda and Megan Murphy, Greene County senior Jennifer Kennedy and Prairie City-Monroe sophomore Courtney VanHouweling were all unanimous picks to the first team. The remainder of the top club included Roland-Story junior Natalie Vance, Nevada freshman Kati Cassabaum and teammate Jessica Helton, a junior, and Collins-Maxwell-Baxter junior Abbie Haupert.

Kennedy led the conference in scoring (17.4), slightly ahead of Miranda Murphy (17.2).

Fact Box


First Team


*Miranda MurphyJr.North Polk

*Megan MurphyJr.North Polk

*Courtney VanHouwelingSo.PCM

*Jennifer KennedySr.Greene County

Natalie VanceJr.Roland-Story

Kati CassabaumFr.Nevada

Jessica HeltonJr.Nevada

Abbie HaupertJr.CMB

*Denotes unanimous selection

Second Team


Nicolette HussonSr.Colfax-Mingo

Kelsey TownsendSr.PCM

Madison SpearSr.Gilbert

Megan PringnitzJr.Nevada

Mallory SpearSr.Gilbert

Abbi GilsonJr.PCM

Kayla MobleySo.Greene County

Hayley JensenSr.Saydel

Honorable Mention

CMB - Shelby Berg, sr.; Kayla Hennick, sr.

Colfax-Mingo - Sydney Fahrney, sr.; Jade Lewis, jr.

Gilbert - Hillary Mosiman, jr.; Paige Hoiberg, so.

Greene County - Quinn Flack, sr.; Thea Ballard, jr.

Nevada - Amber Ramthun, sr.; Raegan Saunders, so.

North Polk - Brandi Rose, sr.; Melanie Leach, sr.

PCM - Krisha Houseman, sr.; Lexi Kain, jr.

Roland-Story - Alyson Riesberg, sr.; Maddie Schmitt, sr.

Saydel - Gabbie Richards, so.; Cassie Chubb, fr.

South Hamilton - Mattea Detrick, sr.; Kaitlin Fisher, jr.



I am looking for: