Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | All Access E-Edition | Home RSS

RAGBRAI advisory, executive teams announced

Committees begin to plan for the many aspects of bicycle riders’ overnight stay in WC

March 9, 2012
The Daily Freeman Journal

RAGBRAI plans continue to progress with the announcement of the advisory committee and the executive committee.

Advisory members include Denny Armentrout, Doug Bailey, Chuck Bonjour, Mike Kroona, Lori Foster, Julie Olmstead and Kay Ross. The role of the advisory committee as set out by RAGBRAI officials is to act as a sounding board for the executive committee plans. Executive committee Members are Chairpersons Kent Harfst, Janet Adams, Carrie Fitzgerald and Police Chief Brian Hughes. Karyl Bonjour will serve as secretary and Denise Shehorn as treasurer.

The four committee chairs each have several subcommittees that are responsible for various pieces of the planning process. Harfst is chair of committees that will work on housing, campgrounds, showers, sanitation and recycling and volunteers. Adams chairs the publicity, hospitality, web and social media, communications and the information center committees.

Fitzgerald will head up food and vendors, electrical, beverage garden, entertainment and special events. Hughes is in charge of public safety, law enforcement, medical, Ride Right and shuttles.

Each committee has designated tasks that are a part of the overall RAGBRAI overnight visit. As each committee with its many volunteers works on and completes its part of the plan the city will be ready on July 24 for the overnight visit of thousands of people.

Future news items will include the tasks each committee is to complete. To request a volunteer form go to, or register online at the Daily Freeman-Journal website,



I am looking for: