City elections set for Tuesday

Polls open at noon at sites around Hamilton County

Polls will be open from noon to 8 p.m. Tuesday as Hamilton County residents head to the polls for city elections.

Three candidates are running unopposed for the City Council of Webster City in the upcoming general election on Nov. 7.

John Hawkins, Matt McKinney and Logan Welch, all three incumbents are seeking another term in office.

Also on the ballot in Webster City are two candidates seeking two spots on the Fuller Hall Board of Trustees – Mary Fortune and Ann Kness. Crystal Gordon is seeking a seat on the Kendall Young Library Board of Trustees.

Three Hamilton County communities have contested races for mayor. Harold L. Hove and Kelly J. Wirtz are both running for mayor in Stanhope. In Stratford, Steven Anderson and Larry Runyan are running for the mayor’s seat. Jessica Hiemstra and David L. Seiser are both seeking the Williams mayoral seat.

Other council races throughout the county include:

• Blairsburg: Troy Hassebrock is running for mayor; Rodney E. Harris, running for council; one seat is open with no candidate running; Vicki Jean Sturtevant, to fill an unexpired term;

• Ellsworth: Gregory Campbell is running for mayor; Marty Jensen is running for council; one seat is open with no candidate running;

• Jewell: Mickey Walker is running for mayor; Kenneth Outzen, Leo J. Reiter and Rick Young are seeking three seats on the council;

• Kamrar: Ruth Brozek, Scott Nieman and Greg Philbrook are seeking three seats on the City Council;

• Randall: Gregg Wright is running for mayor; Susan McSparin, Steven Moore and Scott Stephens for council;

• Stanhope: Terry Painton and Crystal Renze are running for two seats on the City Council;

• Stratford: Heather Conklin, Chase Haman, and Mitchell Peterson are running for City Council; Justin Richardson is running to fill an unexpired term on the council;

• Williams: Dennis Frayne, Richard E. Kohl and Shannon Swedeen are running for council seats.

Williams voters will also consider Public Measure A: “Shall the proposition that the City Council of the City of Williams, Iowa levy taxes for the established Capital Improvements Reserve Fund at a rate not to exceed sixty-seven and one-half per thousand dollars of taxable value each year, for a period not to exceed 10 years, for the purpose of street, sidewalk, equipment and building improvements in the City of Williams, Iowa be adopted?”

Polls are open noon to 8 p.m. Polling sites around the county are as follows:

• Blairsburg: City Hall, 516 Lake St., Blairsburg;

• Ellsworth:  Trinity Lutheran Church Fellowship Room, east entrance, 1629 DeWitt St., Ellsworth;

• Jewell: South Hamilton High School, Atrium Entrance, 315 Division St., Jewell;

• Kamrar: Lions Club Building, 430 Elm St., Kamrar;

• Randall: Randall City Hall, 450 Main St., Randall;

• Stanhope; Stanhope Community Center, 600 Main St., Stanhope;

• Stratford: Stratford Community School, South entrance, 1000 Shakespeare Ave., Stratford;

• Webster City: St. Paul’s Lutheran Church, west entrance, 1005 Beach St., Webster City;

• Williams: Williams Public Library, southeast entrance, 216 Main St.,