County P.E.O. women attend state convention

Deb Berggren from Chapter GP, Jewell and Donna Foster, JE, Dalene Schlitter, EL, and Pat Tempel, NR all from Webster City, were delegates who attended the 126th annual Convention of Iowa State Chapter P.E.O. Sisterhood held June 2nd and 3rd in Des Moines. With the theme “Make A Difference”, Pat Shipley, Chapter CH, Villisca, presided over 800 delegates and visitors. Twenty-one chapters from central Iowa served as the hostess group for the convention. This committee was headed by Peggy Steinbronn, HX, Des Moines; Dotta Hassman, MS, Des Moines; and Linda Murphy, HX, Des Moines.

Attendees participated in workshops and heard from recipients of P.E.O.’s six philanthropies and the Iowa P.E.O. Project Fund, Inc. The convention concluded with the installation of the 2018-2019 executive board officers headed by president Kate Raun, OR, Norwalk; vice president, Bev Templeton, FN, Garner; organizer, Sue Aanes, EV, New London; treasurer, Carol Goldsmith, CB, Ida Grove; and secretary, Carrie Wilkinson, OP, Cedar Rapids.

P.E.O. is a philanthropic organization where women celebrate the advancement of women; educate women through scholarships, grants, awards, loans and stewardship of Cottey College; and motivate each other to achieve their highest aspirations. There are approximately 6,000 chapters in the United States & Canada with nearly 250,000 members. Iowa is the second largest state chapter with 380 chapters and over 16,000 members.